Where customers answer questions and share ideas about our products and services

Reply
Member
Matias
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎30-06-2013
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi, I really need to change the wifi password! Someone is using my wifi network and Im paying a lot!!!!!!
Please, is urgent.
Thanks

Technical Support
Shelly_Telstra
Posts: 2,093
Registered: ‎22-08-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Matias,

 

I can help you out, but so that I can give you accurate directions, I need to know the model of modem you are using.

 


Telstra BigPond Technical Support
Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution || Need Technical support? Send me a private message

You can connect to us here:
Member
Matias
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎30-06-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi, 

the modem is a BigPond.

At the back is a label wich says:
Thomson

TG782T

SN: CP1110NTF7V(41)

 

SSID: BigPond 89F11E


Please, tell me as soon as possible how can I change the pass. Im paying a lot of money for a service wich I dont use too much...
THANKS A LOT!

Technical Support
Shelly_Telstra
Posts: 2,093
Registered: ‎22-08-2012

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi Matias,

Here it is. Let me know if you have any problems

 
- Click on the following link: http://10.0.0.138
- On the left hand menu click on Home Network
- Select the link where it displays WLAN and your network identifier.
- Click on configure in the top right hand corner.
 
From this page you can change the WiFi channel, Network Name, whether it is broadcast or hidden and the WPA-PSK Encryption Key (WiFi Password) and it's encryption type. 
 
- Click on the Apply button at the bottom of the screen
 
You will then need to update these matching details in any device that you want connecting via WiFi.
 
 

Telstra BigPond Technical Support
Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution || Need Technical support? Send me a private message

You can connect to us here:
Member
Matias
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎30-06-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

THANKS A LOT!
I change it!!!!!

And now, another question ; )
I would like to keep an eye on how much I am spending, you know, my daily transfer data.
What do I need to do that?
thanks in advance 

Technical Support
Shelly_Telstra
Posts: 2,093
Registered: ‎22-08-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Matias,

 

There are a couple of ways to keep track of your usage.

 

You can download the Telstra 24x7 app for your Android or Apple smartphone/tablet. This has the added benefit of displaying the usage for all Telstra and BigPond services. You may need to register with Telstra.com first which can be done here: https://id.telstra.com.au/register

 

Alternatively, you can log into https://myaccount.bigpond.com/MyServices.do

 

Once logged in you may need to then select Account Services then My BigPond from the menu located at the top right of the page.

 


Telstra BigPond Technical Support
Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution || Need Technical support? Send me a private message

You can connect to us here:
New Member
janobevo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎22-12-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi 

Can anyone help me ? Ive recently changed my wifi password as I believe someone is using my wifi, I have a Thompson TG782T, since changing it we are now unable to access wifi at all.When I try to access the  page http://10.0.0.138 or the bigpond.bigpond nothing happens

Moderator
JesseS
Posts: 851
Registered: ‎20-02-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Instructions can vary depending on your modem. If that IP doesn't work, you will need to use 192.168.0.1 to access your modem settings.

 

If you have any trouble with this recommend contacting 133933 for further help.

Jesse
Moderator
24x7 Digital Customer Care Team
____________________
Need help? Why not check our KnowledgeBase here || Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines
Member
jisik00
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-01-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

please send me the method of change of wifi password

 

Occasional Visitor
bec1000
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-01-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

hi  there i want to change my wireless key

i have bigpound

technicolor TG587n v3

any help woudld be  great

Technical Support
Brodie_Telstra
Posts: 1,442
Registered: ‎22-08-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hey bec1000,

 

To change the Wi-Fi Password on your TG587n, follow these instructions:

 

- Open Internet Explorer, go to: 10.0.0.138

- Click on 'Wireless' under 'Home Network'

-  Select 'Configure' in top right

- Change your Wi-Fi password, listed under 'WPA-PSK Encryption Key'

- Click apply

 

And you're done! Keep in mind that any devices currently connected under the current password will be unable to connect. You will need to connect them back with the new password :smileyhappy:

 

Brodie

Telstra Bigpond Technical Support

Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution || Need Technical support? Send me a private message

You can connect to us here:
Member
dmk1978
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-01-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi

We received our NETGEAR CG3100D yesertday and installed it without the ethernet cable without any problems. I now need to change the password from the original 10 digit one, the name and its visibilty. I have tried visiting the 10.0.0.38 and the other 197?? ip and the various netgear addresses (netgear.net etc) without success...the combination of admin/password does not work. I have tried resetting the modem, uninstalling and reinstalling it with the ethenet, clearing my cache, also without success.

Can you please advise?

Technical Support
Brodie_Telstra
Posts: 1,442
Registered: ‎22-08-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hey Dmk,

 

the CG3100 is different to the TG587n. To access the CG3100 you need to go to 192.168.0.1. The combination could be admin/admin.

 

Then click on Wireless settings to get to the settings you need.

 

Let me know if this doesn't help :smileyhappy:

 

Brodie

Telstra Bigpond Technical Support

Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution || Need Technical support? Send me a private message

You can connect to us here:
Member
dmk1978
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-01-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Thanks Brodie,

I can get on here now...but the "set password" is for the administration component and when i try to change the "pre-shared" key section with my new wifi password, it tells me it is invalid. 

Technical Support
Brodie_Telstra
Posts: 1,442
Registered: ‎22-08-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hey dmk,

 

The password needs to pass the requirements. Is it longer than 8 characters?

 

Brodie

Telstra Bigpond Technical Support

Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution || Need Technical support? Send me a private message

You can connect to us here:
Member
dmk1978
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-01-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi Brodie,

You deserve "most helpful bigpond employee" or something...i have been trying to solve this for 2 hours now...i have had two separate remote ins, without success! thank you so much...

Technical Support
Brodie_Telstra
Posts: 1,442
Registered: ‎22-08-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Glad to help! :smileyhappy:

 

Brodie

Telstra Bigpond Technical Support

Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution || Need Technical support? Send me a private message

You can connect to us here:
New Member
Just_Me
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎21-01-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi, does that mean that anyone in the house can go to this location and change it when they want?

 

Senior Moderators
Steph
Posts: 1,634
Registered: ‎27-12-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi Just_Me, 

Technically yes they can. 

However you could look at changing the Admin password to stop them from being able to access the settings. 

Steph

Steph
Senior Moderator
24x7 Digital Customer Care Team
____________________
PM Steph - I’m a member of the Overnight Team, so I’ll reply to messages between 10:30pm – 7:00am on the days I’m working.

Live Chat with Telstra

Need help? Check out our KnowledgeBase here || Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution
All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines
MrA
Occasional Visitor
MrA
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-02-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

http://10.0.0.138./   i went to this link and changed password for wifi, i thought as shouwn . but not working now, tried to go back to link , internet explorer said oops. over and over, what do i do to get back

 

Moderator
ShannonD
Posts: 1,608
Registered: ‎20-02-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi MrA,

I'll ask one of our techs to have a look at this for you when they're in during business hours





 

____________________
Need help? Why not check our KnowledgeBase here || Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines
Technical Support
Brodie_Telstra
Posts: 1,442
Registered: ‎22-08-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hey MrA,

 

Does the device/computer you are using show connected to wifi? It could be after the change your unable to access the modem homepage because you're no longer connected :smileyhappy:

 

Brodie

Telstra Bigpond Technical Support

Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution || Need Technical support? Send me a private message

You can connect to us here:
Occasional Visitor
itelstra
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi guys ...this http://10.0.0.138. 

not working !!! any othe way to change the wifi pass ???

please hlep thx

Technical Support
Brodie_Telstra
Posts: 1,442
Registered: ‎22-08-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hey itelstra,

 

What modem model do you have? Some Netgear modems we provide has a modem page of: 192.168.0.1. Otherwise if you default the modem it should take it back to the original settings with 10.0.0.138.

 

Brodie

 

Telstra Bigpond Technical Support

Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution || Need Technical support? Send me a private message

You can connect to us here:
Frequent Visitor
RupertGypsy
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎14-04-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

I have the 2wire 2701HGV-W and can log in on 10.0.0.138.

 

Is the section "Use custom pass phrase key" where I change my wifi password?  (It currently is selected, and not the default encryption key).

 

Also, do I have to be connected by cable to the modem or is okay to change on my laptop.

 

Cheers

Senior Moderators
Steph
Posts: 1,634
Registered: ‎27-12-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi RupertGypsy, 

We'll have our Tech Team answer you in the morning :-) 
 

Steph
Senior Moderator
24x7 Digital Customer Care Team
____________________
PM Steph - I’m a member of the Overnight Team, so I’ll reply to messages between 10:30pm – 7:00am on the days I’m working.

Live Chat with Telstra

Need help? Check out our KnowledgeBase here || Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution
All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines
Technical Support
Brodie_Telstra
Posts: 1,442
Registered: ‎22-08-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hey RupertGypsy,

 

The 'Custom Pass Phrase' is the right details to change if you're wanting alternative Wi-Fi passwords :smileyhappy:

 

Brodie

Telstra Bigpond Technical Support

Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution || Need Technical support? Send me a private message

You can connect to us here:
New Member
Spence79
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎15-04-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

I am also trying to change my password but 10.0.0.138 and 192.168.0.1 are both not working, nothing is loaded on the page

My moderm is a Thompson TG782T

 

PLEASE HELP!!!

Moderator
JesseS
Posts: 851
Registered: ‎20-02-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

In that case, I would suggest contacting our tech support team on 133933 to go through it in detail with you.

Jesse
Moderator
24x7 Digital Customer Care Team
____________________
Need help? Why not check our KnowledgeBase here || Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines
New Member
14580
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎18-04-2014
0 Kudos

Re: How to change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

modem is BigPondOA82   7266564417

Occasional Visitor
MUHAMMAD1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-05-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Thanks
Member
EnderTheThird
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎20-05-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

When type in my ip and access my technicolor gatewat it asks for a username and password. I have tried everything I can think of. What should these details be?

Member
EnderTheThird
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎20-05-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Technicolor TG797n v3

New Member
GlasgowGames
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-07-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

It's asking me for a user name and password, but it's not accepting my user name and password....tried the admin thing as well, and that didn't work
Moderator
IvanS
Posts: 589
Registered: ‎21-02-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi GlasgowGames, 

 

Welcome to CrowdSupport :smileyhappy: 

 

If you get a bit stuck, have a chat to our tech support team on 133933 (open 24/7) to help out. 

 

Ivan

Ivan
Moderator
24x7 Digital Customer Care Team
____________________
Need help? Why not check our KnowledgeBase here || Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines
Occasional Visitor
hangtang
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎22-06-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hello,

This is your customer Hang Tang,

Wireless Network Name ( SSID )
BigPond0889

 

This message is in regards to my current security password for my Bigpond WiFi internet.
I recently became aware that my security information for my WiFi had recently been exposed to the public. As a result my internet could be accessed by anyone ( Who had my WPA ) within the WiFi range.

 

I wish to change my current security password as soon as possible, what must be done in order for me to change my current password?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Moderator
TommyR
Posts: 349
Registered: ‎21-11-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi Hangtang, 

To change the Wi-Fi Password on your TG587n, follow these instructions:

 

- Open Internet Explorer, go to: 10.0.0.138

- Click on 'Wireless' under 'Home Network'

-  Select 'Configure' in top right

- Change your Wi-Fi password, listed under 'WPA-PSK Encryption Key'

- Click apply

 

And you're done! Keep in mind that any devices currently connected under the current password will be unable to connect. You will need to connect them back with the new password 

If you have any problems, you can also call us on 133933 and wee can assist you with this. 

Regards,

Tom,

Moderator
Telstra Social Media Team
____________________
Need help? Why not check our KnowledgeBase here || Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines
Occasional Visitor
KatKat
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎14-06-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

I'm trying to change the password on my netgear cable modem. I've tried going to 10.0.0.138, 192.168.0.4 & 192.068.0.1 and none of them load?
Senior Moderators
Joe-Telstra
Posts: 1,727
Registered: ‎20-09-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hey KatKat,

 

Firstly, welcome to CrowdSupport, please hang around, stay awhile and help us out in our community where you can.

 

Katkat, please follow instructions below on how to change the Wi-Fi password in your cable modem.

 

Changing your Wi-Fi Password (SSID & WPA) . Thanks KatKat.

 

-Joe:smileyhappy:

                                                                                                                                                          . 

With kind regards,

Joe:smileyhappy:
Moderator
24x7 Digital Customer Care Team
____________________
Need help? Why not check our KnowledgeBase here || Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines
Member
kirstincarrera
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-08-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi! I read the discussion board on crowd support regarding changing the password for the router. I was trying to follow the instructions you gave for TG587n modem. I went to http://10.0.0.138 but it was prompting me to log in my username and password. I tried using the wireless network name as the username and the wireless security key as the password but it did not work. same thing happened when i went to use my username and password when logging in to my account. After that, I do not know any combination regarding my router anymore. Can you help me, please? My internet connection has become so slow this past week. Thank you.

Member
kirstincarrera
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-08-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi! I read the discussion board on crowd support regarding changing the password for the router. I was trying to follow the instructions you gave for TG587n modem. I went to http://10.0.0.138 but it was prompting me to log in my username and password. I tried using the wireless network name as the username and the wireless security key as the password but it did not work. same thing happened when i went to use my username and password when logging in to my account. After that, I do not know any combination regarding my router anymore. Can you help me, please? My internet connection has become so slow this past week. Thank you.
Technical Support
Brodie_Telstra
Posts: 1,442
Registered: ‎22-08-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hey Kirstincarrera,

 

It doesn't usually prompt a login when you first access, but you can try: 

 

Username: admin or username

password: password

 

Let me know how it goes. 

 

Brodie

Telstra Bigpond Technical Support

Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution || Need Technical support? Send me a private message

You can connect to us here:
New Member
Travandliv
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎29-08-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

admin/ admin didn't work for me

 

We have a 300D also

Technical Support
Brodie_Telstra
Posts: 1,442
Registered: ‎22-08-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hey Travandliv,

 

Can you try admin/password?

 

Brodie

Telstra Bigpond Technical Support

Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution || Need Technical support? Send me a private message

You can connect to us here:
Occasional Visitor
Traeges
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎27-09-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi,

 

We have a CG3100D - 2BPAUS and have tried EVERYTHING (including http://192.186.0.1/) and have tried username/password, admin/password, and admin/admin. Nothing has worked including resetting the modem to factory default.

We bought our modem secondhand and suspect that these details have been changed to make the modem as hack-free as possible. We are racking our brains as to how else to get our WiFi password work, or to rest the modem.

 

Thanks,

Ian Traeger

Moderator
IvanS
Posts: 589
Registered: ‎21-02-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi Traeges,

 

Welcome to CrowdSupport :smileyhappy: 

 

Our tech team are not in over the weekend, however I will flag this one for some assistance when they are back in. 

Ivan
Moderator
24x7 Digital Customer Care Team
____________________
Need help? Why not check our KnowledgeBase here || Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines
Technical Support
Shelly_Telstra
Posts: 2,093
Registered: ‎22-08-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Change wifi password! my modem is a bigpond.

Hi Traeges,

 

If you are performing a factory default using the reset button, this can sometimes take a few goes before it is successful.

 

I always suggest making sure the modem is turned on and finished starting up. Hold in the reset button until the power light starts flashing, approximately 10 seconds. 

 

I am a little concerned that this is a second hand modem. You may not be able to register this to your BigPond Cable service, but if it works that is bonza.

 

- Shelly

 

 


Telstra BigPond Technical Support
Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution || Need Technical support? Send me a private message

You can connect to us here: