Where customers answer questions and share ideas about our products and services

Reply
Help & Support Team
CrowdSurfer
Posts: 582
Registered: ‎13-07-2011
0 Kudos

Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

Introducing the new T-GatewayTM which is a modem, router and a Wi-Fi access point in one.

 

TGateway.jpg

 

It is an advanced ADSL gateway not only supporting high speed ADSL services, but also the following features:

 

You can connect to multiple compatible devices such as T-Box®, PCs, MACs, laptops, smart TVs and game consoles as the T-Gateway has one high speed Gigabyte Ethernet port and three standard Ethernet ports (further specifications found here).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"If we've been able to answer your question, please tag the answer as an accepted solution - this will make it easier for the rest of the community to locate the answer too ."

Community Leader
Wanglese
Posts: 2,198
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

Does it serve up .mkv files natively or do they have to be renamed to avi's as with the current gateway I have?

 

(still waiting on a firmware upgrade eta for that, BTW)

__________________

If I've helped in some way, a Kudos would be appreciated.

I'm an accredited "Telstra Hero", but I don't work for Telstra, I'm here purely voluntarily to help out others and any opinions I express or advice I give are purely my own, and don't represent Telstra.


Honoured Contributor
Lathania
Posts: 1,652
Registered: ‎27-04-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

[ Edited ]

Probably not an answer CS is going to be able to answer hopefully one of the product guys pipes in. From the comparison I did however it seems to me that It's more or less the same product except NBN voip ready (Premium gateway was lacking voip ports / software)

 

Edit: Multiple SSID's... I'm going to be annoyed if it has proper guest network functionality when my new N600 router doesn't @_@

athania


 


__________________________________________________

Help recognise contributors by clicking the Kudos  button for helpful posts and marking as    allows others to benefit from useful posts.

I'm a Telstra employee posting on my own volition, my opinions and comments are my own and may not reflect Telstra's values and policies.



Community Leader
Wanglese
Posts: 2,198
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

I like the idea of VOIP, and the multi ssid can have moments, and DECT support...

 

What's interesting to me, is Telstra's actually going to be promoting VOIP.  I wonder what they have planned........

 

__________________

If I've helped in some way, a Kudos would be appreciated.

I'm an accredited "Telstra Hero", but I don't work for Telstra, I'm here purely voluntarily to help out others and any opinions I express or advice I give are purely my own, and don't represent Telstra.


Telstra Products & Services Team
CraigW
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-07-2012

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

At this stage ".mkv" files are still not natively supported in the DMS library. As suggested renaming those files as ".avi" will work in most cases.

 

The Guest Wi-Fi feature enables you to setup a second (or third) completely separate network with  unique SSID names and encryption keys. Devices connecting to this network are provided access to the Internet only. Just what you need to provide Internet access to Guests without giving out the credentials for your main network.

 

DECT and VOIP are currently not supported however the hardware does cater for this to change in the future.

Honoured Contributor
Lathania
Posts: 1,652
Registered: ‎27-04-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL


Wanglese wrote:

I like the idea of VOIP, and the multi ssid can have moments, and DECT support...

 

What's interesting to me, is Telstra's actually going to be promoting VOIP.  I wonder what they have planned........

 


Most NBN customers will be in what they class as a "Greenfield" area and will not have access to analogue telephony. Telstra is already providing VOIP support to these customers.

 

@CraigW Is there the option to change WiFi broadcast type i.e. B, B/G, N, A effectively allowing you to limit the bandwidth avaliable to the guest network?

 

athania


 


__________________________________________________

Help recognise contributors by clicking the Kudos  button for helpful posts and marking as    allows others to benefit from useful posts.

I'm a Telstra employee posting on my own volition, my opinions and comments are my own and may not reflect Telstra's values and policies.



Community Leader
Wanglese
Posts: 2,198
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

"Most NBN customers will be in what they class as a "Greenfield" area and will not have access to analogue telephony. Telstra is already providing VOIP support to these customers"

 

Ahh, I wasn't aware of that. cool.  Obviously a great commercial step would be to figure out a way to provide video calling between Telstra customers using the T-Hub 2.

 

The reason I suggets that is yeah, Skype's doable, but landline calls to people who simply don't use skype...

__________________

If I've helped in some way, a Kudos would be appreciated.

I'm an accredited "Telstra Hero", but I don't work for Telstra, I'm here purely voluntarily to help out others and any opinions I express or advice I give are purely my own, and don't represent Telstra.


Honoured Contributor
Lathania
Posts: 1,652
Registered: ‎27-04-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

I believe that they're being charged at landline rates at the moment, most people seem to have just an analogue phone plugged into their NBN Modem. Modem in the OP will basically be a new universal modem from what I can tell. Think they're trying to have the same one for Velocity / NBN / ADSL. I wouldn't be surprised if you see a coaxial input in the next model (Even though I'm sure HFC is being phased out too but not sure how that's going to work.) They also support HSDPA as a WiFi router :smileywink: One stop Telstra modem. Almost.

athania


 


__________________________________________________

Help recognise contributors by clicking the Kudos  button for helpful posts and marking as    allows others to benefit from useful posts.

I'm a Telstra employee posting on my own volition, my opinions and comments are my own and may not reflect Telstra's values and policies.



Telstra Products & Services Team
CraigW
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-07-2012

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

Hi Lathania,

 

Both Guest and the main network are on the same physical Wi-Fi channel and logically split to allow separate management and access control. This means that it's not possible to individually control bandwidth or protocol type for just the guest network.

New Member
Robbo111
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎25-09-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

Hi guys

 

Can I ask why such a good looking and sophistigated piece of equipment is not dual band or 802.11ac compliant. It seems such a waste to me and I use most Telstra products.

 

 

Honoured Contributor
Lathania
Posts: 1,652
Registered: ‎27-04-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

My bet would be because a large amount of home users equipment doesn't have the capability of connecting to ac, I know with my N600 at home my housemates laptops get terrible connection when I set the WiFi to ac from n.

athania


 


__________________________________________________

Help recognise contributors by clicking the Kudos  button for helpful posts and marking as    allows others to benefit from useful posts.

I'm a Telstra employee posting on my own volition, my opinions and comments are my own and may not reflect Telstra's values and policies.



Les
Established Member
Les
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-10-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

Ever since receiving and connecting my T-Gateway, I have had problems with it. On 3 out of 5 occasions the ADSL drops out when the landline phone rings. The T-Gateway will not automatically attempt to reconnect to the ADSL, so I have to always do a power reboot. I have a Telstra Long Range 9750BT cordless phone connected to the land line. I have spent the past six months trying to resolve this problem by speaking to the support people on the BigPond Internet side, as well as the support people on the Telstra Phone side.  Each side tries to pass off the problem to the other, and neither side will talk to each other about it. It is strange because there is a Telstra hybrid product called the T– Hub 2 which crosses over both areas. Who looks after this product?

Here is a list of checks and things I have done and been told to do by the tech support people, as well as things I have done on my own by reading various forums.

Line Filter

I have changed the line filters 3 times. I have checked that I am using the recommended model of filter. I made sure I used the filters that came in the box with the T-Gateway.

Disconnect Land Line

I disconnected the cordless phone from the land line and the problem disappeared. I connected an old corded phone for 2 weeks and did not suffer one drop out.

Turned Off Wi Fi

With the cordless phone reconnected, I then went into the T-Gateway’s URL and turned off the Wi Fi. The computers were connected via the Ethernet cables. Once again I did not have a single dropout under this configuration in 2 weeks.

Connected a Netgear Wi Fi Router

With the Cordless Phone connected to the land line, I then connected a Netgear Wireless router to the T-Gatewat via an Ethernet port, while leaving the Wi Fi turned off in the T-Gateway. This configuration worked flawlessly for 2 weeks.

Change Wi Fi Channel

So what I had done above proved to me there is a conflict with the two Telstra products; the T-Gateway and the Telstra Long Range 9750BT Cordless Telephone. When I told this to tech support, one suggestion was to change the channel in the T-Gateway. Under their instructions, I did that. However that did not stop the drop outs when the T-Gateway was put back to Wi Fi mode and the Cordless phone connected.

WHAT I HAVE DONE THAT IS WORKING

In total frustration I decided to try one final procedure. I collected up all the cordless telephone handsets and put them into the metal garden shed as far away from the house as I could so they would be out of range. I turned off the base station on the cordless phone. I then went to the T-Gateway and pushed the “DECT” button on the back to set the T-Gateway into pairing mode. After the “DECT” light stopped flashing orange while it was trying to pair with a DECT handset, it turned red and stayed on. This to me was an indication that it has failed to pair with a headset. I then turned on the cordless telephone base station and returned the cordless headsets into their charging cradles. It has been working like this now for 2 weeks without a single drop out.

WHAT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW

I would like to know if there is any way of disabling telephony in the T-Gateway. The default is Telephony Enabled.  I live out in the country, so the NBN will not be coming to my neighbourhood in my lifetime. Therefore the telephony section of the T-Gateway is not going to be used. Even though the problem has been resolved, seeing the red light on the T-Gateway is annoying.

Thank you for your time.

Established Member
Luehmans
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎15-05-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

We have been having trouble with our gateway since it was installed, its almost like its a network issue with it.

The internet onteh items connected via ethernet drop out constantly however the wireless seems ot be fine.

Even home sharing via itunes fails at times which makes me think its the ethernet ports on the gateway that are the issue.

The installer noticed the same thing when it was installed, it seemed to come and go via the ethernet cable but not the wireless. We have changed cables still no luck.....

Visitor
illusion
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎30-05-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

The gateway is not what decides what file types get made available to the TBox, (MY MEDIA), instead this is controlled by Windows Media Player Sharing. 

 

On a side note if you want to send all extensions and file types to the tbox, (or other DLNA server), I have found XBMC to be far superior to Windows Media Player and have not found a file that can not be sent.

 

XBMC also allows the added functionality of DVD/Blueray direct playback from your pc DVD/Blueray drive to the TBox or other DLNA Server.

 

XBMC is also completely FREE

 

I have written a XBMC install guide for windows and also one for LINUX If anyone is interested please PM me, (if possible), I am only too happy send a copy. XBMC is also supported on APPLE so with this the TBox will support Windows Linux And Mac, (also ome mobile devices).

New Member
rexne1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎19-06-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

Hi Crowd Support, 

 

I've just received the new T-Gateway Modem.

I’m interested in using the WAN port on the new Gateway as I have already an existing Telstra Cable connection. So the question is, are there any limitations in using this ADSL 2 Router with my Telstra Netgear Cable modem connected to the WAN port and does the Router automatically use or load balance both connections ( Telstra ADSL 2+ and the Telstra 100Mb Cable) ? I may be asking this prematurely as I’ve only just received the modem and yet to review the config on the T-Gateway router. 

New Member
ishtarlight
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-07-2014
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

Hi, 

I am trying to establish printer connection through usb port at back and/or side of gateway. In your message there is a link for instructions on how to do this but the page won't load. I have a Fuji Xerox DocuPrint P255ddw and t-gateway TG797. Can you please direct me to step by step instructions on how to do this as there doesn't appear to be any that I can find. 

Thanks,

 

Technical Support
Shelly_Telstra
Posts: 2,093
Registered: ‎22-08-2012
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

Hi Ishtarlight,

 

Try connecting via both USB ports, but the most important thing to remember is that you will still need to install the printer drivers and software on each computer/device.

 

- Shelly


Telstra BigPond Technical Support
Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution || Need Technical support? Send me a private message

You can connect to us here:
Occasional Visitor
Jehmac6
Posts: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

Hi, Just wondering how I can get my hands on a T-Gateway? I was told at the point of sale up for new Broadband ADSL2+ that I could by them from the Telstra store, although on my second inquiry (they had none in stock at point of sale), I was informed that I should have ordered it at point of sale. This is contrary to the advice I had received at point of sale which was that there should be more in stock next week, come back then. If I had known that this was the case, I would have ordered it at point of sale, not as the sales person told me to do, which was to buy it off the store and indicate I would BYO modem/router. My new connection has been completed and now I hjave no modem/router to actually use my new interent! Quite an inconvieniance.

 

Your promt action in reply would be appreciated

Moderator
ShannonD
Posts: 1,608
Registered: ‎20-02-2013
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

Hi Jehmac6,

I would recommend contacting our 24x7 Bigpond team on 137663 so we can investigate & assist

You can find more information on our modems under "Gateways" via http://www.telstra.com.au/connectedhome/enhancements/getwifi/

Apologies for any earlier inconvenience experienced 

____________________
Need help? Why not check our KnowledgeBase here || Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines
New Member
kateforbes
Posts: 1
Registered: Monday
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

Firstly, Massive Apologies in advance to all the super clever computer people out there who may read my question.  In advance, I wish to state that although I somehow manage to work my way through most things issue wise, I am not - by any means - computer literate and therefore should the question I am about to ask seem basic, please bear with me because I am truly stumped.
Thanks
I have purchased and installed the T-Gateway.  I attached the filter/splitter to the line that the T-Gateway is using and the good news is, it is up and running with the wi-fi proving a awesome benefit.

However, the problem is this.

We have other phones in our house that don't have these splitter/filter things attached to them and as such, the static is horrific when making or answering a home landline call.

I;m hoping that by explaining what phones we have , someone will be able to advise me on all I need to do in order to remove the static and hear the person at the other end.

In our home, we have a total of three telstra telephone points where a landline unit can be attached.
The first of these one has no phone attached to it and is not being used.

The second one is being used to connect the base unit of a uniden 3 cordless phone unit plus connect the T-Gateway Unit.  This is the line I have the filter/splitter thing attached to that came with the T-Gateway.

The third one is a bit different in that it is connected to a wall mounted phone that is operational and also experiences the static.

Finally, there are the extra two Uniden cordless handsets that are only run of a power point as the base unit (see above) runs the calls through the point it is attached to.

So , in summary, we have a total of 4 operational phones running from two telstra points with one extra point free.

Now, to the question.  Could someone please advise me about how many extra filter/splitter things I need to purchase to remove the static.  As I mentioned before, I am not clever with these things so any advice you could also provide as to which phones I need to attach them to plus (if possible) recommendations as to the name of the items i need to purchase and where i can purchase them from would be really kind.  

I know this is a massive message but having no idea what info you guys need, I thought I would include it all.

Thanks Again for your help

Look forward to any replies

Cheers

 

Senior Moderators
Steph
Posts: 1,632
Registered: ‎27-12-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Introducing the new T-Gateway (ADSL

Hi kateforbes, 

The noise you are hearing is simply because you don't have a splitter/ filter on each phone point. 
Since you have 3 phone points, you'd need 3 splitters/filters, one for each. 

Once these are in place between the telephone line and the wall socket, the noise will stop. 

Telstra sell splitters/filters over the phone on 13 22 00 for $29.95 each. 

Or from our Ebay Store: http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Netcomm-C10-ADSL2-Filter-Splitter-/111235480955?pt=AU_MobilePhoneAccessor...

You can also buy these from most electronics stores, supermarkets and similar. 
Any Splitter/ Filter that says it's for ADSL2+ will do the job

Steph
Senior Moderator
24x7 Digital Customer Care Team
____________________
PM Steph - I’m a member of the Overnight Team, so I’ll reply to messages between 10:30pm – 7:00am on the days I’m working.

Live Chat with Telstra

Need help? Check out our KnowledgeBase here || Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution
All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines