CROWDSUPPORT ®

jgaspar
0 Kudos

iPad / iPod is "unable to join the network" using a Thomson TG782T

I've been using a Telstra Bigpond service for a couple of years using the Thomson TG782T.  I've had no problems connecting several laptops but when I try and connect an iPad or an iPod Touch I get this "Unable to join the network" message.  If I try to connect with my Blackberry Torch I get a similar result "Failed to connect to the network"

I've researched the problem a bit and some people have had success changing the channel from 1 to 6 or 11m but that didn't work for me.

Has anyone else had this problem or know of a solution?

Thanks,

John

Established Member
Trollbait
0 Kudos

Re: iPad / iPod is "unable to join the network" using a Thomson TG782T

Sorry, don't have a solution to your issue as I am having the same with an iPhone and another mobile that despite having the correct access code still can't access the wifi.

Anyone got a solution?

Occasional Contributor
brandonz

I've had a look around the Internet and a user on Apple's support forums thought it might be the encryption that's the issue. Can you try temporarily taking down the security on your wireless network just to see what happens? Obviously if you're concerned about security, don't try it, but you never know!

I also found this - apparently changing the channel to 13 helps. Another user had EXACTLY the same problem that you're having now and bam, changing to channel 13 worked!

If something I've said has been helpful to you, I'd love to hear about it! To give me Kudos, just click the 'sunshine' icon over on the left-hand side of the page under my avatar. Thanks a bunch!
Established Member
Trollbait
0 Kudos

Hi Brandonz

Just tried your suggestion and whilst I won't be able to check whether the iPhone works until my daughter comes back, changing to channel 13 has increased my download speed fivefold and I can now watch Foxtel over my T-box which I haven't been able to do since Sunday.