CrowdSupport®
AuntMay
Level 1: Cadet

Not sure if scam call or not?

I recently received two calls this week for the same reason but am unsure if it is a scam. the first caller said that i would be getting homephone and nternet benefits over the next week, they knew my address and general details and asked me to confirm that i am an Australian resident by provding them with ID so i gave them my licience number, they told me to hang up and 2-3 minutes later someone would call to further confirm everything but realising it seemed fishy i hanged up and unpluged the phone for that day not answering any calls. A couple of days later another gentleman called for the same reason, but this time he said it would be for a month and asked for ID again but i hanged up before i gave any information, They did not ask me for my bank details, just my date of birth, confirming that i am at least 18 years old and my name etc. I think they mentioned something about my new service provider being Prism Telecom but besides that all i have is what they told me to write down which was the benefits e.g. unlimited internet at 20mbps, free local calls, line rental for 84.95 etc and also their names and the recording number of the call. I have done some research but have not seen anything on any benfits Telstra is provding and i have not recieved any written notice either, therefore, i am unsure if this call was legitimate or some sort of scam?

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
3 REPLIES 3
Level 24: Supreme Being
Level 24: Supreme Being

Re: Not sure if scam call or not?