Highlighted
powerfix
Level 1: Cadet

NBN, Static IP & Reverse DNS PTR Record

Hello,

Firstly, I am already at the end of my tether, so apologies on the tone. I am ready to burn Telstra to the ground and close my account for every service. I am a network engineer with almost 20 years under my belt and have never been so angry.

I have recently upgraded from an ADSL2+ (with static IP) to NBN (with a static IP) on Telstra Bigpond. Unbeknownst to me, Telstra apparently don't offer a reverse DNS option with residential BigPond. It's 2017, FFS, update this rubbish first. Alot of us are trying to run a small business and have a mail server. Listen to your market. Every other ISP does this as _part_ of the static IP assignment.

OK, so I've now called up and migrated the Bigpond NBN to a Telstra Business NBN package so I can modify this record.

But no-one, and I mean no-one that I've spoken to (11 people and 6 hours on the phone and counting) has any idea about how this can be changed.

I am sick of your rubbish hold music and want answers for my expensive, useless internet connection.

Does anyone know, categorically, how to update this $&@&$*ing record?

Please.

Regards,

Ready to switch to iiNet/Internode/TPG/Whoever else.

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
6 REPLIES 6
Level 23: Superhero

Re: NBN, Static IP & Reverse DNS PTR Record

You should be able to update the information in 'CustData' if you have a compatible service.

https://www.telstra.com.au/business-enterprise/download/document/business-custdata-user-guide.pdf
If you've found a solution then don't forget to mark that post accordingly.
If you think I've been of assistance to you please remember to let me know by clicking on the LIKE button.

Please note: I am not a Telstra employee and any posts or opinions are entirely my own and don't reflect any official company position.
powerfix