Highlighted
1AdrianS
Level 1: Cadet

Static IP with Netgear NIGHTHAWK M1 Router

Hello,

I am a business customer and have the Nighthawk M1 wireless Broadband, It works fantastic. Very quick 40 - 55mpbs... Connected to 4 devices with no issues...

However, I need a static IP for our security system.

I have tried on 3 occasions to get help on the phone but mostly have been bounced around, or they do not understand what a static IP is and simply ask me to turn the device off then on again. Very Very annoying.

I am not good with computers however I am not stupid!

The last lady I spoke with really was good and trying what seemed to be the right things until it felt like she was late for her dinner brake and wanted to get off the phone!

I need to know how or who to speak to, to set the Static IP.

They have added the code to my account ( supposidly!)

Help needed Adrian

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
9 REPLIES 9
Level 25: The Singularity
Level 25: The Singularity

Re: Static IP with Netgear NIGHTHAWK M1 Router

If they have added the code correctly, then restart the nighthawk, and the external IP address that it gets assigned by the network is the one it should use permanently.

The other option is to check to see if your security system can utilise a DDNS. That way, it doesn't matter if the IP address changes.

Never be afraid to back yourself when trying new things, just always make sure you have 3 escape routes if things go wrong.
SimomChook
Level 2: Rookie

Hi,

I too have been bounced around for days within the Telstra "support" services on this.

I have the telstra.extranet APN setup and the code on the connection.

Telstra end up saying they will call Netgear and call me back but never do.

The NightHawk doesn't have a DDNS service built in so that is not an option.

I have called Netgear myself to no avail.

I keep getting told it should be static but it isn't.