Highlighted
destino
Level 1: Cadet

Dodgy Overseas Calls

Answered

I've been at home lately and I've received sometimes 2-3 calls per day from dodgy Indian call centres purporting to be from Telstra and offering to help me fix up major issues that i am having with my internet.

They attempt to direct me to eventvwr show me all the errors and then attempt to log onto my pc using teamviewer

I'm just wondering if Telstra is doing anything to stop these calls. Block these numbers or attempt to find those responsible.

These calls are coming through on my Telstra account so there must be a record of the call and the source of the call.

Being on the no call register obviously doesn't work.

What can we do to get these calls stopped.

I work in IT so these calls don't propose a risk to me but I wonder about those not so savvy.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Level 24: Supreme Being
Accepted Solution

Re: Dodgy Overseas Calls

They are using IP based local numbers. These are usually held by companies like Skype as an example with whom you can make calls out from an ID without a number or can register a number that requires nothing but a couple dollar payment.

They are almost impossible to trace and would take a giant leap in international regulation to really curtail it. The only way to really trace the calls would be to get their IP details which would mean getting legal authority to force the IP voice service provider to release the details and then being able to have the resources to actually trace it back.

This is far above the power of the telcos as it needs legal powers that dont already exist. But that being said, they do close lots of these scammers and numbers down constantly but it is so easy for them to just get a new number and boom they are back up.

Then on top of that there is also software that can mask numbers to make it look like a local number when it isn't as well so they can also use that.