Where customers answer questions and share ideas about our products and services

Reply
Support Team
Posts: 2,256
Registered: ‎28-06-2011
Accepted Solution

How do I report a fault with my home line?

[ Edited ]

Just thought this was as good a place as any for this little tidbit: if you're having problems with your phone line service like not being able to make or receive calls, or your line is crackly and drops out the people you need to talk are our Fixed Line Faults team on 132203. However sometimes the phone isn't convenient for you. That's why we also have our Troubleshooting Tool

 

Using that form, we can identify a number of common faults and if it's required we'll ask you to fill out some additional details. Of course if your problem doesn't fall into any of the categories on the tool then your best bet is to give us a call on 132203 and talk to someone to work out exactly what's going on with you over the phone.

 

I hope this helps, and if you have any thoughts about this or think I've left anything out feel free to comment away!

 

-Dylan

____________________

Need help? Check out our Community Wiki or Support Portal || Looking for a new mobile? Order online today
Don't forget to tag answers as Accepted Solutions and give a Kudo to the member(s) who helped you out

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines

Telstra Employee
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-07-2011

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

[ Edited ]

 

One of them is an ‘Isolation Test’ and it involves unplugging all of your phones/devices from every socket in the house and testing them one at a time. This helps rule out if it is a particular phone or device causing the problem.

 

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎13-12-2011
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

hi, i can't use my phone (home) for over a week now because of severe crackling/static. Tried online reporting but it's being repaired/changed. could i report it to you? i wondered if it has anything to do with my internet dropping out constantly and needing resetting. my home number is 0266871280. naturally calling me on it wont do any good, nor will leaving a message. email works. There have been electricity guys working near by for possibly the same time period, could they have... ? OK thanks very much, i hope you can help, karin

Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎13-12-2011
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

The crackling is so bad when you either answer or try to make a call, please advise, Telstra has been working on our corner for a couple of days now, plus we have had rain..Thank you for a fast reply...

Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎20-12-2011
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

The above mentioned online fault reporting form and web page to request help came up with an error, ie "not found".
Have done the isolation 5 step test without success.
I am one of the few people left on the planet that does not have a mobile, so with the failure of online support and no mobile how do I get Telstra to fix the land line?
Support Team
Posts: 2,005
Registered: ‎28-06-2011
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

Hi Dianne, sorry to hear about the problems with the connection. The online referral page is still down at the moment, but we hope to have it restored soon - in the meantime, if you don't have access to another phone to report the fault you can also chat with a consultant online from the links on the front page of these CrowdSupport forums.

____________________

Need help? Check out our Community Wiki or Support Portal || Looking for a new mobile? Order online today
Don't forget to tag answers as Accepted Solutions and give a Kudo to the member(s) who helped you out

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines

Support Team
Posts: 2,005
Registered: ‎28-06-2011
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

Just a quick notification to say that the online reporting form is now available again - it can be found along with details of the line isolation test at https://help.telstra.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16985/session/L3RpbWUvMTMzMzE1MTg2NS9zaWQvaXhsdjlxV...

____________________

Need help? Check out our Community Wiki or Support Portal || Looking for a new mobile? Order online today
Don't forget to tag answers as Accepted Solutions and give a Kudo to the member(s) who helped you out

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines

Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-04-2012
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

Hi,

 

Phone lines been reported as down again. Sigh...

 

I think we're up to the fifth time in the last 30 days that it's gone down... (Stopped counting the number of times over the last three months).

 

Haven't even reported the times that one of us has got up in the middle of the night as the hands free set's been beeping registering a lack of dial tone.  Sometimes it's back up again by break of day, othertimes - not so much.

 

Bit over it really, wish Telstra would just fork out for whatever piece of equipment up at the main road branch pegs out whenever we've had more than an inch of rain. You get that a bit in the tropics.  Airlie Beach has spectacularly bad phone service and roads....

 

As you're meant to phone and report on 132203 if the lines been reported as faulty in the last 30 days, I've spent way too much time on that number.  I've actually just had that number on speakerphone on the mobile for the last five minutes.  I've almost given up reporting line faults, have Telstra given up answering them too??  

 

I've never been a conspiracy theorist, but are you lot trying to get us all to move to Skype and mobile??  Does Telstra own Skype shares??  Is there such a thing as Skype shares???  Whatever...

 

Could you just fix the line already???

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎19-04-2012
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

i have tried to log my fault online with the form and i was also on hold earlier tonight well before 8 o'clock for over half an hour and still no answer. both my home line and modem are dead (no dial tone) and i have reported this fault once already this week. last time my line was apparently fixed, my phone line is hanging out of the telstra pit out the front of my house in some sort of coke bottle contraption instead of being in the pit. can someone come and fix my line for good. in three years i have had to report the same fault on my line at least 8 times. i am starting to think about telling my fiance to not pay the bill for a while till it is fixed for good!!!

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎19-04-2012
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

the online form gives me an error message as well!!!
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎16-05-2013
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

i send my fault report for my landline online and within 5 minutes i got a SMS and email saying that i should contact 132203 how????....my landline is faulty!!!!!...

Telstra Employee
Posts: 132
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

I see your point, but 132203 can be called at no cost from any Telstra mobile, which doesn't render the SMS completely pointless.  That said, it is strange that lodging your fault online led to an almost immediate prompt to call us - what was the nature of the fault?

 

- Justin

Telstra Social Media Team

____________________
Need help? Why not check our KnowledgeBase here || Find what you were looking for? Tag answers as Accepted Solution

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎18-05-2014
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

I canmake phone calls but nobody can make a call to my side the phone is not working

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-01-2015
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

Have had a fault on my home line since the 24th December.   I was told that I could only get a technician out on the 6th January 2015.

 

I run a business from home and I need my line fixed.   Telstra cant promise that a technician will be out on Tuesday and nobody in my street has this problem only MY LINE IS FAULTY.   I want answers now

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-01-2015
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

I have been waiting in line to speak to someone  for the last 15 minutes and nobody has answered my call so still waiting.....

Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎29-09-2014
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

Hi Telstra
Would like to report a fault on our home phone. It's been a week since we have been able to use the phone line after the storm we had last weekend. One of the trees in the park fell and we heard the sound of electricity/fireworks and then our line was out and crackling. Ausgrid have apparently checked the line, we have unplugged, taken batteries out of our three phones and have used our neighbours phone, which is working in their house, however it did not work in ours, crackling again and not able to dial out or receive calls
Hopefully Telstra will fix this problem soon as we need the phones for medical reasons
Eve
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎27-01-2015
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

Hi, Can't tell you how many times I've sat on the phone to telstra due to crackling line and problems with Internet. I have been waiting for over a month to have someone come and fix recent problem and the telstra guy decides to sit in his car to wait for rain to stop. Ok no problem but after waiting since 8.00am this morning and now it's 12.14pm the telstra guy has driven away without bothering to let me know what he's doing.

 

So do I wait when I have million things to do ????

 

So now I wait on the telstra line AGAIN and am told 18 minute wait....of course.

 

So frustrating !!!

 

Oh and will anybody reimburse me for the time phone has been out of use or the time I spend talking on the phone to telstra or the complaints I've made and never heard back from !!!!!!

 

Can someone fix my phone because I'm sick of paying for a service I never recieve.

 

 

Occasional Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎27-01-2015
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

ok so here's an update on the missing telstra guy.... he decided without letting me know to drive off and fix someone else's phone. Gee thanks for letting me know. I have now been informed that i need to wait another hour and the guy will call me to let me know what time suits him.... Gee isnt that great customer service !!!

 

Another 15 minute minutes wait on telstra line to be told thats the only option.

 

Again what great customer service.

 

IED
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎24-02-2015
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

For the last four years every time it rains I lose my land line connection. We have had in excess of 35 service people try to fix it.  Counting the complaints from my neighbours the complaints run into the thousands. In the end we went to cable internet as we were paying for broadband and were getting no service. It would however be nice for the land line to work as we are paying for it and getting no service. The techs all say that the underground lines are stuffed. Could you please fix it properly and give me a refund on the incredibly slack, sad, completely useless rubbish service that we have been putting up with.

Not very happy.

Ian

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎28-02-2015
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

I've rung the 13 # to try and report a fault - my phone line is dead past 24 hours - but Telstra keep cutting me off. I've looked at the online form and quite frankly, it's not fit for purpose bc I know the problem is in the local exchange  - I'm not the only one affected. I need to talk to someone now. I pay for the service but I'm not getting it. I've tweeted Telstra in the vain hope I might get a faster response. Can you help in any way??????

gyp
Occasional Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-08-2015
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

Hi folks,

Just tried to log a fault online with my extremely noisy line, between the crackling and buzzing I could just about follow the robots instructions, finally managed to get to the stage -checking your line for faults--SORRY your line is BUSY !!-WHAT?? -that's when i gave up, might try another number tomorrow

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎17-11-2015
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

It is an iconic brand does not understand the philosophy of total quality service. A fault complaint on a land line should not take in excess of 72 hours to given a response. It is entirely fair that people with medical needs be given special priority but as a general rule ALL service faults should be addressed, within 24 to 36 hours maximum.  It is one thing to receive acknowledgement of the fault receipt within an hour, but to then be told it will be something like 72 hours before a technician may even be able to attend is quite frankly not acceptable in any service business sense. I know..I run a service business and if I told my customers that, I would not have a business.

Telstra needs to lift its game, in fact the whole telecommunications industry across the board has several rungs up the ladder to climb to even consider itself 'adequate'.

Along with the hundreds of other dis safisfied customers I feel a letter of complain to the higher authorities coming on!!

Sa5
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎22-03-2016
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

I've called the number but after waiting 10mins the call dropped out. I also went through the troubleshooting steps, without success. Are there any ways of getting a response?

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-06-2016
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

The online tool doesn't work and I have to wait at least 20 minutes on the call to report a fault - this is ridiculous. No wonder Telstra is losing customers

 

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-06-2016
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

Hi

 

My land line has been out for over 24 hours though BigPond is working fine.  Can't ring on my landline of course and I only have a prepaid mobile and was told by an automated message, after many attempts to get a consultant, that there would be a long wait.  Did not want to risk using all my credit so I tried the online troubleshooting tool.  There is no problem with service apparently, in my postcode of 4670.  I tried the isolation test and I have a fixed line in one room and a 2 handsfree system in two other rooms, all of them remained dead.  When I got to the end of of the fault reporting form it said that there would be a charge of over $100+ dollars.  I am a pensioner and would prefer not to incur this charge.  I just want a consultant to email me.  Is this too much to ask?  How do I go about this?  Thanks.

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎26-06-2016
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

my speech on my phone breaks up when i'm attempting to talk to another person

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: 4 weeks ago
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

Our home phone in 4212, Helensvale has no dial tone, - we have no service.

Out internet is going like a snail.

Please repair.

Thank you.


thedylan wrote:

Just thought this was as good a place as any for this little tidbit: if you're having problems with your phone line service like not being able to make or receive calls, or your line is crackly and drops out the people you need to talk are our Fixed Line Faults team on 132203. However sometimes the phone isn't convenient for you. That's why we also have our Troubleshooting Tool

 

Using that form, we can identify a number of common faults and if it's required we'll ask you to fill out some additional details. Of course if your problem doesn't fall into any of the categories on the tool then your best bet is to give us a call on 132203 and talk to someone to work out exactly what's going on with you over the phone.

 

I hope this helps, and if you have any thoughts about this or think I've left anything out feel free to comment away!

 

-Dylan


 

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: 4 weeks ago
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

I NEED TO REPORT A PHONE NOT RECEIVING SERVICE.

07

HELENSVALE , 4212 - RIVERSTONE ROAD HAS NO PHONE SERVICE.

PLEASE REPAIR ASAP.

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: a week ago
0 Kudos

Re: How do I report a fault with my home line?

[ Edited ]

What happened to the reporting form? The instruction "You must call us on 13 22 03 to report your fault in order for us to take action" on the troubleshooting page is very annoying as (1) my phone is not working! (2) I do not want to deal with a call centre. Reference 20-89644 no dial tone I HAVE done an isolation test <personal details removed for your privacy>