THinkAlex
Level 2: Rookie

Setting Up VoIP for a non-Telstra phone

Dear Telstra,

we have on of the best VoIP phones on the current market for small businesses.
(As I know from many Telstra Support phone calls, you might not be familiar with the term VoIP. No worries, it's the same as an IP Phone, except that VoIP is the international standard name for this kind of service Smiley Wink )

It is a Gigaset DX800A including three additional handsets.

Please Telstra, do us both a favor and do not even start telling me you do not support "3rd party equipment". I'm an IT Consultant and work with international customers. Apparently, you guys are the only company in the world which make it so extremely difficult to set up a 3rd party device.

However, I DO NOT need your support with setting it up (you can be relaxed, you won't break the Telstra "don't deliver good quality service" rules). All I need is just the standard SIP / VoIP settings from your side (Authentication Names, Server addresses and so on -> basic VoIP).

Thank you!

Now for the ones who read more:

Dear Telstra, the phones you offer are very inappropriate for our small business regarding costs, attributes and quality.
Out of curiousity, I called Vodafone and Optus, acted like were a customer and asked them the exact same questions. Both times I got full support and solutions delivered in less time then I was on hold or talked with machines at Telstra.
No further words needed....

(In case some people think my text is too rude or harsh: Do not take it personally, rather see it as a reflection of my disappointment and simply the fact, that I don't understand how Telstra actually thinks that limiting the freedom of its customers suits their business moral)

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
14 REPLIES 14
Level 23: Superhero

Re: Setting Up VoIP for a non-Telstra phone

elstra call the VoIP service 'Next Gen Calling' or NGC for short.