CrowdSupport®
Highlighted
Dustoff59
Level 1: Cadet

ADSL2+ running at 56k speeds

Answered
Ok, first of all I have seen the other threads relating to this subject BUT, none related to my location.
I'm a computer engineer myself having over 20 years in in the industry.
I first noticed my Internet running very slowly about 4 days ago. The very first thing I did was to conduct a international check of my systemsq, modem, computer and connections. I have not added anything new nor made any changes to my setup or LAN.
Having once done a thorough check at my end and recorded download speeds of 76Kbs and uploads of just over 36kbs I decided it was time to give Bigpond tech support a call. They commented that the system had been experiencing problems and they couldn't help me for the time being, please call back.
The next day I called back but to my surprise I was put through to another department, however I was hung up on. I called back and told them about the speeds I was experiencing. Once again I was told that their systems relatiing to testing and so on we're down. ..... Please call back tomorrow.
When at dinner with friends I commented to friends about my ADSL2 speed....... Surprise surprise.... They all commented that they were experiencing similar speed issues.