CrowdSupport®
Level 1: Cadet

Cable connection drop out issues

Hi,

First, a disclaimer - this is my first post on this board and I have no prior knowledge of cable modems, so apologies if I have posted this to the wrong board and / or should have attached my comment to a different thread.

Background

I live in Willoughby in Sydney.  I have had a CG3100D-2 cable modem and Telstra Bigpond Ultimate for about 12 months, and have had internet dropout issues since installation.   

Typically what happens is that the modem will lose its connection to internet (the "internet" led blinks) but the wifi connection remains stable.  As a result, devices connected via wifi think they have an internet connection but no data is transferred.

The modem appears to try to reconnect to the internet and is occasionaly successful, but the only reliable solution to reestablish the connection issue is to turn the modem off, unscrew the coax cable, wait 30 seconds, reattach the coax and turn the modem back on.  

Attempted fixes

The first fix I tried was to have an electrician install a new coax cable between the modem and the telstra cable junction box around 9 months ago.  This was done as part of a renovation, the electrician was certified, and I'm confident the job was of a good standard.

The next attempt was via a complaint lodged with Telstra around 3-4 months ago and a regular tech came out, reviewed my modem's power levels, noticed that the downstream power level wasn't ideal (~-7 dBmv from memory) and replaced the splitter.  

I think the second attempt helped reduce the regularity of the dropouts, but we still have days / weeks where the modem will dropout 3-4 times a day.  I haven't noticed if dropouts are related to weather.

Current status

As a result of the continued dropouts, I've tried to read a number of the complaints / comments on this forum and have taken a look at my modem power levels.