mike_l
Level 2: Rookie

New cable Modem troubles

Hi all

I have been a Telstra customer with Cable for several years. I have pretty much had almost no issues with my cable service. No dropouts or intermittent faults other than scheduled outages. I recently changed my plan and was sent a new modem. My old modem was fine but I figured I would swap it out anyway. I work in IT and do a lot of work remotely from home so having a reliable connection is important. The new setup is the cable modem and router as separate units.

Ever since installing the new modem I have noticed my connection having very frequent dropouts. Random things like accessing my security cameras or Spotify pausing. At first I thought it was my wifi (Aruba) but I have confirmed that isn’t the issue by using multiple hardwired PC's to run ping tests out to the internet and the router simultaneously. The router is dropping packets from my constant pings on the LAN interface which is quite concerning.

I have some pretty decent equipment on my network at home which I know is not the problem as the only thing that has changed is my modem/router. I have checked the logs on the router and have noticed a bunch of DNS resolution errors and a few other random errors. I can’t change the local DNS on the router so by default the DHCP tells all the clients to point to the router for resolution.

My guess is either this router can’t handle my network or the router is just no good and needs to be replaced. My question to the community is, are these routers problematic? Should I just go back to my old modem? I am trying to avoid calling Telstra support as even swapping out the modem was a hassle. They tried to force me to diagnose things when I know exactly what the problem is and wouldn’t listen to me. Is there a second/third level of support I can deal with to not have to speak with someone who reads off a script?

Thanks for your help 

Mike

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help