CrowdSupport®
Highlighted
Masud
Level 1: Cadet

P2P connection or evaporating my all gigs

Answered

Hi

I am facing a huge data loss issue at my side. I have been using Telstra for last 8 years and my usage has not been changed much. I don't download any but my two sons play some online games which I don't believe do not come more than 2 gigs per day. I have 200 gigs capacity however, this capacity has been finishing in 10 days now. I check all, I have been monitoring my 7 and 12 years old sons, I am sure that they don't make any downloads. I have two computers with Ethernet connection and three devices (Android, Iphone, Ipad) connected with WiFi. My sons play on ipad only. I have been changing my Password frequently and nonone knows except me. This issue just came in when I connected the NBN. I had the same capacity with ADSL2 and I never used more than 100 gigs data.

Would you please provide me solution how can I resolve the issue? I assume that it might be only from P2P connection. I need the following solutions:

1. How can I monitor the data usage on devices? If so I understand  the problems or who is using that devices. Any apps or software?

2. How can I stop P2P connections?

3. How can I stop such huge data usage - note that we never download any, only online games max 2 hours per day.

Thanks

Masud

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Telstra (Retired)
Telstra (Retired)
Accepted Solution

Re: P2P connection or evaporating my all gigs

In this day and age nearly every application, operating system, and device relies on a data connection.

Some tips to manage your usage are:

• be aware of which applications sync in the background to "the cloud" - i.e. some sync when you are on Wi-Fi and charging an iPhone/Android/Windows Phone
  • close any applications which might consume a lot of traffic even after the intended download is complete
  • be aware of applications which "upload" a lot of content as this also counts towards your usage allowance