CrowdSupport®
Highlighted
Gregoir
Level 1: Cadet

Port blocking

Answered

Hi all.

I'm trying to set up a website and host it from home, but have problems. I checked my ports on http://www.myserver.org/legacy/portscan.aspx and noticed no service detected on port 80. I am a bit new to this, and don't know if bigpond blocks port 80 for incoming connections or that something about my setup is failing to provide an active service.

I contacted support by email and they sent me here, saying "The information you require falls beyond our support and limitiations", so with apologies for asking, does anyone know if there is any port blocking?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Level 25: The Singularity
Accepted Solution

Re: Port blocking

You will need to open port 80 in your Firewall (both on Computer & Router)

Never be afraid to back yourself when trying new things, just always make sure you have 3 escape routes if things go wrong.

View solution in original post

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
6 REPLIES 6

Port 80 is open on my connection (opened on my Router), but your problem after opening the port and directing it to your web server is that you will have a dynamic IP address (ie it will periodically change).  You will need to set up a DynDNS service to direct a Domain Name to your router.

Never be afraid to back yourself when trying new things, just always make sure you have 3 escape routes if things go wrong.
Gregoir

Yeah, I already did the dynamic dns thing, so that side of things is all good. I suspect that something in my server setup isn't correct, so I'll start working over that today. Thanks for the advice.

Accepted Solution

You will need to open port 80 in your Firewall (both on Computer & Router)

View solution in original post

Gregoir