CrowdSupport®
Highlighted
DM05
Level 2: Rookie

Port forwarding Smart Modem Gen 2 for PS4

Hi,

I've attempted to forward ports for my ps4 with the new smart modem gen 2. When I check if the ports are open they don't show as they are so I wanted to check if I was forwarding correctly.

if the modem has been set to factory settings, I plug an ethernet cable into the ps4, go into modem settings add a static lease for the i.p and its mac address that its created (i've also tried changing the address other than what it auto sets to) go into services then port forwarding, add the ports as necessary i.e tcp wan&lan port 1935 then the static ip and apply. I also turn upnp off.

I restart the modem, input the static ip number and check the ports but they're closed.

I do a custom set up on the ps4 to connect to the modem.

I'm not an expert at any of this or gaming but from playing some shooters and fifa etc you can tell my connection doesn't seem the best generally.

I'm also on cable internet with decent speeds. 100mbps down and around 4.5mbps up.

Cheers

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
9 REPLIES 9
Level 24: Supreme Being

Re: Port forwarding Smart Modem Gen 2 for PS4

Have you checked to see if ports are open at a online port checking site such as canyouseeme?

For PS4 the following ports should be port forwarded.

• TCP: 80, 443, 1935, 3478-3480
  • UDP: 3478-3479
DM05

Thanks for the reply. I have checked ports on this site www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports.
Just tried the one you mentioned and I'm not able to change the ip address from my wan ip address. I checked port 80 anyway and it came back with an error saying - Error: I could not see your service on 144.***** on port (80)
Reason: No route to host
I had a read of your unofficial manual before trying all of this too.