CrowdSupport®
swint
Level 2: Rookie

Telstra Broadband Protect blocking my website

Hi there,

I am an administrator for a small company and our mail server is being blocked by Telstra Broadband Protect. Can someone please message me so I can provide further details including the URL to get our service off this blacklist?

Kind regards

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
10 REPLIES 10
Level 25: The Singularity

Re: Telstra Broadband Protect blocking my website

You need to find out which services have you blacklisted (virustotal.com) is good for that.
You then need to clean your site and get it removed from those blacklists.
You can then click on the "report site as safe" link on the page that comes up when TBP blocks your site and it will be reassessed.
Never be afraid to back yourself when trying new things, just always make sure you have 3 escape routes if things go wrong.
swint

Hi Jupiter,
Originally we were blacklisted by Google;s Safebrowsing service (which was remedied weeks ago). I'm guessing Telstra uses that same list but just hasn't removed it yet. It is not part of any other blacklists as far as I can tell. I have used the "report site as safe" link for multiple clients so far but it has not been reassessed (or if it has, I'm not sure why it's still failing) and they are unable to access their emails without manually changing their DNS settings.

Thanks for responding
Level 21: Augmented

Nope, Telstra does not use Google's Safebrowsing nor anyone who is serious about security. If you do not want to tell us what the site it is, please check it against the virustotal.com as advised by @Jupiter.
DISCLAIMER: I do not work for Telstra or any other ISP. I never did. I have wealth of practical knowledge in Computer Security and Forensic Computing. I have been in the field since 1985.

Likes (formerly Kudos) and solutions are appreciated!!!
The comments expressed by me reflect my user experience and personal opinion.
swint