CrowdSupport®
ranmac
Level 1: Cadet

Telstra Smart Modem Gen 2 set up for NBN

Answered

I am not very technically savvy so please bear with me (nearly 80yo). I live in an area where we get a lot of electrical storms. My Telstra Gateway NBN modem got wiped out last night in a severe electrical storm. Even though I had turned off the power at the wall, It was suggested that the damage was caused from a surge through the phone line. And if the phone had been connected through a surge protector power board, the damage may have been avoided.

So I now have a Smart Modem Gen 2. Following the instructions provided, the phone is now connected directly to the modem, no connection to the phone wall socket. Is this correct?

Should I connect the phone through the surge protector?

And should I also connect the power cord via the surge protector?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Level 25: The Singularity
Accepted Solution

Re: Telstra Smart Modem Gen 2 set up for NBN

Your phone gets connected to the modem and the modem gets connected to the wall socket (preferably via the surge protector).

The power should be connected via a surge protector as well, but the best protection if you know that a storm is going to pass through then disconnect everything from the wall sockets.
Never be afraid to back yourself when trying new things, just always make sure you have 3 escape routes if things go wrong.

View solution in original post

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
2 REPLIES 2
Accepted Solution

Your phone gets connected to the modem and the modem gets connected to the wall socket (preferably via the surge protector).

The power should be connected via a surge protector as well, but the best protection if you know that a storm is going to pass through then disconnect everything from the wall sockets.
Never be afraid to back yourself when trying new things, just always make sure you have 3 escape routes if things go wrong.