CrowdSupport®
DanU1
Level 2: Rookie

Telstra cannot activate my cable Internet even after three weeks - in Melbourne !

I don't know what to do! I am with Telstra for the last 24 years. We moved houses few times due to work requirements, and had Telstra ADSL2+ for the last few years. Also have mobile phones and fixed line with Telstra in a bundle. Until now the moves of the ADSL account was painless (even if sometimes it took a week for the swap. Last move was in Toorak - Melbourne. The ADSL, a year ago. The ADSL was slower than we ever had before (less than 5Mbps download , worse during evening). I assumed that it is because old telephone lines , being an old house and old suburb. Around this 25th of January I contacted Telstra to enquire if there is a faster way, and they suggested cable (I have a Foxtel subscription and the cable was already wired in the house). I accepted to swap to cable Internet and an order was raised on the spot by the overseas Telstra operator. After about two days the ADSL stopped working , as it was the end of the billing period. At the same time the Internet service disappeared from my bundle services! After about a week an NBN technician came to the house and checked all the signal and connection, and reported to Telstra that all is OK . Telstra sent the cable adaptor and the smart modem gen 2 . The cable adapter (Netgear VM450-1TLAUS) has all the lights green as they should indicating Internet connection. However there is no cable internet, and the smart modem (Arcadyan LH1000 ) when starting tried to connect to the cable and then swaps to the contained pre-activated SIM mobile data (which is slower than my ADSL of before). I called telstra activations (1800 135 103 option2) four times now, with nothing changing, wasting at least 8 hours from my time in total with the overseas operators who just follow their script and can do nothing. Every time they tell me to wait for another 24...48...72...hours, progressively longer. Nothing change