Highlighted
Steve101
Level 2: Rookie

Telstra's bad customer service

Answered

I've had some bad experiences with Telstra's disastrous customer service over the years, but this one takes the cake. Let this be a warning to anyone who chooses to do business with this dysfunctional company...

I decided to install a landline with bundled internet at my country studio. My studio is rented and is one of two properties on the block, the other belongng to my landlord. I placed the order with Telstra by phone and was notified that a technician would visit to make the line connection. All fine and dandy.

As usual I was given a four hour window for the technician's visit, which meant I had to wait at home. This was the first (but normal-for-Telstra) inconvenience. The technician arrived and tested an old landline that was already in my studio and told me it needed repair. He was unable to do the repair himself as this was the responsibilty of a different department within Telstra, he explained.

Next contact from Telstra came in the form of a phone call from another technician who turned up without notice while I was away interstate. I explained that I wasn't given any notice of his visit and he replied 'niether was I'. So he met with my landlord in the other house, checked the line and said that Telstra wouldn't repair the fault because it ran from one house to the other and not directly from the terminal in the street. Aparently the first technician had a different opinion, or he could have told me the same thing. Incidentally the house to house line was originally installed by Telstra.