CrowdSupport®
Highlighted
Level 1: Cadet

Activating a telephone line in a brand new house

Heeeeeeeelp!!!!!

Hi everyone, I am new to this, so please go easy on me :-)

I have been bounced back and forth between optus and Telstra for the past 2 hours, and not getting any sense out of anyone, so thought I would give this a go.

I am a tenant about to move from one address into a brand new townhouse in Melbourne.

All of the telecommunications wiring has been installed in the new property I am about to move into.

I am a current Optus customer for both home line and broadband - currently locked in to a 24 month contract.

So, I rang Optus and asked them to move my service to my new address.

They informed me that the line is quote "not active" at the property I am about to move into, and that I need to get Telstra to "activate" the line - whatever that means. They informed me that they could not see the line at that address.

So I rang Telstra, and struggled to find someone there who understood what I needed. It was like the term I was using "activate the line" made no sense at all to them.

So currently Optus cannot transfer the exsiting contractual service I have with them, and Telstra  do not undesrstand what Optus require.

I'm guessing that one of them doesnt know what they are talking about, but I dont know where the fault lies.

Does anyone have any clues at all to assists me. I am not certain if the problem lies with Optus or Telstra.

Maybe I am speaking with the wrong department in at Telstra.

Has anyone doen something like this before?

Surely I am not the first person to do this - it can't be that complicated

Any help would be gratefully appreciated

Thx heaps

Tony

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Community Alumni (Retired)

Re: Activating a telephone line in a brand new house

Hi Tony,