CrowdSupport®
PMG67
Level 4: Private Eye

False missed calls every 36 minutes

Answered
Every 36 minutes I get a missed call on my cordless phone. There is no number. I have tracked it back to a multi frequency tone burst coming out both the phone ports on the Telstra Smart Modem at 36 minute intervals . I have recorded the tone but have not been able to decode it. It is there with the home phone unplugged. I have a FTTN service. It seems to be a common problem with the NBN as it is reported on outer posts , but without a solution. Thanks Malcolm.
4 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Level 24: Supreme Being
Accepted Solution

Re: False missed calls every 36 minutes

What modem model are you using and what firmware version is it running?
I am a Premium Services Support Consultant (Telstra Platinum, Telstra Smart Home, Locator/Device Locator and Neto POS). However, I am not an official representative on CrowdSupport.

IT Helpdesk and Technicial Support by Telstra Platinum
Smart Home Automation & Monitoring from Telstra
Helping Australians Find the Things that Matter Most with Telstra Locator
Run a Modern Retail Business with Neto Point of Sale
Kerborous
Accepted Solution

The mystery to the root cause of this issue relates to voice mail.

Can you confirm that the phone service from Telstra supports a voice mail capability?

You can confirm this by listening to the dial tone on your phone which will be a stutter dial tone only if you have voice mails present and then clearing all VM messages and listening to the dial tone again which will no longer be a stutter dial tone.

The multi frequency burst  you measured is the FSK signalling used to alert your phone to the fact that the Telstra NW has unlistened message or clear of messages. It is proceeded by a DC line reversal pulse. All this signalling is part of a standard used to alert phones to voice mail events and is periodically sent by the network.