CrowdSupport®
Highlighted
glendonb
Level 3: Gumshoe

Overcoming frequent dropouts with Telstra 4G dongle

Answered

By 'dropouts' I mean web pages will no longer render despite being connected with good signal strength.

I have been using this device now for several months and have been recently been experiencing frequent  dropouts while connected to the net - once every 20-30 mins after midnight, every 15-20 mins during the day, every 2-10 mins at night.

The device is an LTE USB modem, model MF821, made in China by ZTE Corp.

Software is Telstra's Mobile Broadband Manager - version 3.10.20131 (Inteweave Pty Ltd).

My computer is an Apple iMac 7,1 with 6GB RAM running OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard) on a 512GB SSD drive.

3 months ago, I upgraded from 2GB RAM, OSX 10.5.x (Leopard) and a 500GB HDD. I must admit that dropouts were less frequent with this older setup - maybe once every few hours.  Typical signal strength in my area was 4-5 bars Telstra NextG - I could live with that.

Recently, however, I have been experiencing increased signal strength in my area - up to 2 bars of 4G.

This resulted in even faster speeds but faster dropouts - both blessing and curse combined.

I have to close Telstra Broadband Manager - not 'force quit' as this results in a hangup which requires a full re-boot - unplug the dongle, wait about one minute, then reverse the proceedure.

Can anyone help?  This is driving me nuts!  Cheers.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
glendonb
Accepted Solution

Re: Overcoming frequent dropouts with Telstra 4G dongle

THE FINAL SOLUTION

Okay,  I just thought I'd do something different and as as test,  I removed the 4G sim card from the dongle, cut it down and inserted it into my iPad 4.

I then turned the iPad into a personal WiFi hotspot and logged in with my iMac.

Well, I'm now getting LTE speeds of up to 15 Mb/s with NO DROPOUTS in my house.  I cannot wait to see what speeds I get on the LTE network in the CBD with my iPad.