CrowdSupport®
Maho2
Level 2: Rookie

How to set up DLink 3rd party modem?

Hi all,

Hoping someone can help, our cctv is not working remotely using our current modem which is the latests Telstra modem. The cctv company as recommended getting another modem which we have done but its my first time setting one up, apparently you don't just plug it in and go!!

We purchased a Dlink DSL-3785 to take over from our Telstra modem. We have NBN don't know if that makes things different and I don't know what ISP information to use. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance. 

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
9 REPLIES 9
Level 24: Supreme Being

Re: How to set up DLink 3rd party modem?

What Telstra modem did you have? The only one you might have had trouble with is the Arcadyan version of the Gen 2 Smart modem (LH1000) due to its lack of support for NAT loop back.

When setting up the Dlink for Telstra NBN connection use the wizard and if FTTN/B set the WAN access type to VDSL and set Internet connection type to Dynamic IP address page 13 and 14 of manual

Maho2

I have the Telstra smart modem Gen 2 not sure what version though, it’s pretty new not even a year old. 

I tried those settings with the Dlink and we seem to have an issue connecting to the internet just getting a big red x each time!! 

What type of NBN connection do you have is it FTTN/B were the DSL port on the modem plugs into a phone socket?

In the Image below the Arcadyan modem is the one on the right without the vent holes in the side.

Smart_Modem_Gen_2_Sides.JPG

Maho2

My Telstra modem is the one with the vents.. should this be strong enough for the cctv? we find the cctv will play on everything except through our phones, so anything it is directly linked to is fine but wireless to our phones is not.