CrowdSupport®
Jacw01
Level 2: Rookie

Smart modem in bridge mode login

Hi,

I am having trouble trying to login into my telstra smart modem that is setup in bridge mode to a netgear R7000.

I am trying the http://mygateway/ and the http://192.168.0.1 but it keeps timing out, I have tried powering off/on again but still can't access it

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
4 REPLIES 4
Level 24: Supreme Being

Re: Smart modem in bridge mode login

Have you tried setting a static local IP in the subnet range of the smart modem (E.g 192.168.0.10, subnet 255.255.255.0, gateway 192.168.0.1) and then plugging directly into with Ethernet?
I am a Premium Services Support Consultant (Telstra Platinum, Telstra Smart Home, Locator/Device Locator and Neto POS). However, I am not an official representative on CrowdSupport.

IT Helpdesk and Technicial Support by Telstra Platinum
Smart Home Automation & Monitoring from Telstra
Helping Australians Find the Things that Matter Most with Telstra Locator
Run a Modern Retail Business with Neto Point of Sale
Jacw01
Level 2: Rookie

I have my desktop connected via ethernet but it runs through the netgear. So if I connect my pc direct to the smart modem it should connect?

As well as connecting directly to modem you would also have to set a static IP address on the PC Network Adapter. This is only a suggestion and I doubt it will work.
The only reliable way to access modems GUI is to reset modem to normal by doing a factory reset. Make any required changes and then Bridge the modem.

The following cards (and functionality) will no longer be available after switching to bridged mode:
Content Sharing
Devices
Diagnostics
Firewall
Internet Access
Mobile
Telephony
WAN Services

Support Team
Support Team

Hi Jacw01,

How did you go with @cf4's suggestions?

-Chris