Highlighted
Humbleguy
Level 3: Gumshoe

WiFi test shows unknown extender & throughput

Answered
I ran a speed test on my home wifi connection and it has uncovered a throughput that I’m lost to determine what might acting as that on my home network unless it’s my modem that is hooked to my new NBN device perhaps? The test also showed an extender that I have no knowledge of.
Anyone???
There are no problems, only solutions.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Level 24: Supreme Being
Accepted Solution

Re: WiFi test shows unknown extender & throughput

Thanks for providing extra information. I take you were using the Telstra’s Home Dashboard app to do your measurements. The Telstra Home Dashboard app is a bit confusing for the normal person.

The throughput is the speed of the WiFi link between your device and the modem. The throughput speed depends on strength of the WiFi signal and the capability of wiFi radio in your device and is not effected by the link speed of the NBN connection.  The delay is the delay between your device and the modem and not the delay of the link.

On my NBN link the link speed is 42/12 but when I do a speed test the throughput is 170 Mbps and the speed of the connection is 40.5 Mbps down and 12.2 Mbps up. The Booster linkage is also shown to be good although I don’t have a booster.

I can’t explain why your connection type is shown as ADSL but that might be a glitch in the system. Or it could be that when you transferred to NBN you elected to remain on your old ADSL plan instead of taking up one of the NBN bundles. You can check this by checking what plan you are on in Telstra My Account.

The modem is not Telling you it is in Bridge mode. That is the name on the switch that if you click on it will set the modem to Bridge mode. If the modem was in Bridge mode you would not be able to access the modem’s settings.

There are no security issues you are connected to your modem and these results do not indicate your connection is not secure.