CrowdSupport®
shaunconlan
Level 2: Rookie

ip camera on nbn not working

I am unable to view my ip cameras remotely and it seems switching to the nbn has caused the problem. Up until the switch I had no problem at all. I am no novice but certainly no expert and would like some assistance in this regard. Upon trawling the crowdsupport pages it seems port blocking may have something to do with it. I have a Technicolor DJA0230TLS router which came with the "upgrade" to NBN.

Any help would be appreciated.

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
24 REPLIES 24
Support Team
Support Team

Re: ip camera on nbn not working

Hi shaunconlan,

Thanks for getting in touch, I'm sorry to hear you're unable to utilise your remote viewing feature on your security cameras following your upgrade to NBN. If you haven't already, I recommend having a chat with our tech team via  https://tel.st/lwckn to discuss further.

Let me know how you go.

Need help? Check out our Community Wiki or Support Portal || Looking for a new mobile? Order online today || Get help with any Tech at Home with Telstra Platinum || Don't forget to tag answers as Accepted Solutions and give a Like to the member(s) who helped you out.

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines

Level 24: Supreme Being

What make and model IP camera do you have? You will probably have port forward some ports on the modem See section 9 of the document linked at the bottom of this post for how to port forward on the Telstra Smart Modem Gen 1.1 DJA0230.

shaunconlan

Thanx for the reply. The ip camera is a nanny cam and came with little information. After spending some time reading, I used canyouseeme to ascertain which ports were open and found that the ports were all closed. 

By default the modem closes all the ports and they can only be opened either manually or by using UPNP.