Highlighted
WJA777
Level 4: Private Eye

3G Network Shutdown?

Has Telstra given any indication of when they will begin to shutdown the 3G network? This has significant ramifications for phones that do not work with Telstra VoLTE, the recently released Huawei P20 Pro and OnePlus 6 to name two.

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
10 REPLIES 10
Level 24: Supreme Being

Re: 3G Network Shutdown?

2020ish as far as i know
I am a Premium Services Support Consultant (Telstra Platinum, Telstra Smart Home, Locator/Device Locator and Neto POS). However, I am not an official representative on CrowdSupport.

IT Helpdesk and Technicial Support by Telstra Platinum
Smart Home Automation & Monitoring from Telstra
Helping Australians Find the Things that Matter Most with Telstra Locator
Run a Modern Retail Business with Neto Point of Sale
WJA777

I'm really surprised that there is so little discussion around the web on this topic. Retailers are selling phones hand over fist that will probably never be VoLTE compliant and yet this can be a reception issue now, if you happen to be in an area that is only serviced by a 4G small cell, and the issue is going to get bigger as time goes on with most new tower deployments being 4G.  If the demise of 3G is in sight, it's really strange that it's not being discussed more.

Wow. I would have expected at least 2025, considering they are still selling 3G only prepaid devices and I would expect Telstra to work on a 2-3 lifespan of those devices. They hadn’t sold 2G for about 5 years and people were still complaining so ~18 months is going to be interesting.
Helpful Links

Internet not working or outage in your area? - Check the Outage page for details and troubleshooting.
Help with an account issue? - LiveChat 24x7 support
View Usage, Bills and more - Check it out on MyAccount

Previously worked with a Telstra Partner however I am not a Telstra Employee, just a fellow customer helping when I can.