Grrr1958
Level 2: Rookie

Stop home devices connecting to Telstra Air

My devices routinely try to connect to Telstra Air when I'm at home, and often fail, so I have to manually select the actual WiFi networks at home.  Annoying because it's not always obvious that's the problem, there is a WiFi icon showing on the phone, you think you're connected but not really.   

I have Telstra Gateway, so the Telstra Air connection I'm talking about is from my own router, not an external hotspot

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
7 REPLIES 7
Level 24: Supreme Being

Re: Stop home devices connecting to Telstra Air

there should be settings in your devices to 

1. stop them from connecting to open networks

2. forget the telstra air network so it stops auto connecting

3. All of the above

I am a Premium Services Support Consultant (Telstra Platinum, Telstra Smart Home, Locator/Device Locator and Neto POS). However, I am not an official representative on CrowdSupport.

IT Helpdesk and Technicial Support by Telstra Platinum
Smart Home Automation & Monitoring from Telstra
Helping Australians Find the Things that Matter Most with Telstra Locator
Run a Modern Retail Business with Neto Point of Sale
Grrr1958

Hi and thanks for the suggestions.

Can't find any option to disable open networks - hunted high and low (Samsung Galaxy 7, Android 6.0.1)

I don't want to forget Telstra Air, since it's supposed to be the way I can access broadband at Telstra hot spots, which is the reason I agreed to sign up to Telstra Air in the first place.

On Android devices go to settings /Wi-Fi long tap on Telstra Air SSID and tap on Forget Network

On Windows PCs Click on connection symbol in RHS status bar, click on Telstra Air SSID and untick box labeled Connect Automatically.

On IOS devices go to Settings / Wi-Fi tap on Telstra Air SSID and click on forget.