This thread is now archived and closed to new comments. Some of the links and information provided in this thread may no longer be available or relevant. If you have a question please post a new topic.
No, the billing system is set up with the details of the contract and there are discounts on the device cost that are linked to the duration of the plan. If you cancelled the plan early then there would be extra device costs to be paid out so it would actually be messier than paying off the device monthly.
Never be afraid to back yourself when trying new things, just always make sure you have 3 escape routes if things go wrong.