Highlighted
STANFORD1927
Level 5: Eagle Eye

SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB A WIFI TABLET

Answered

Hello I currently have Telstra big pond and wifi, for my desk top.This is set up in a spare bedroom.I am going to buy the above tablet, in the next couple of weeks.I suddenly wondered, if the Tablet, would be able to utilise, the signal, from my net gear modem, if I used it, in another room of the home. Should I purchase a Telstra WIFI extender maximiser I have just read about on Telstra's web site.I want to get the tablet, as I think it would be convenient, to use, instead of going to another room every time I want to use the computer! I also have an older style mobile with bluetooth only.I believe you can pick up WIFI signals in alot of areas when you are "out and about" but you need some sort of password?

I am no expert, so would appreciate any thoughts, as to my best course of action.Thanks for the assistance.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Level 24: Supreme Being
Accepted Solution

Re: SAMSUNG GALAXY TAB A WIFI TABLET

The tablet will be able to use your modems wifi yes. As to whether you need a wifi extender it will depend on how your signal is around the house which you would need to test with a wifi device. 

A lot of places have wifi hotspots that you can connect to (A lot of shopping centres do + various other places). Generally these are free to log into and dont require a password.

I am a Premium Services Support Consultant (Telstra Platinum, Telstra Smart Home, Locator/Device Locator and Neto POS). However, I am not an official representative on CrowdSupport.

IT Helpdesk and Technicial Support by Telstra Platinum
Smart Home Automation & Monitoring from Telstra
Helping Australians Find the Things that Matter Most with Telstra Locator
Run a Modern Retail Business with Neto Point of Sale
settlersbill
Level 7: Deputy Inspector
Accepted Solution