Highlighted
scotty_308
Level 2: Rookie

Account Temporarily Suspended - suspicious emails

A while back I started receiving a lot of returned email errors for emails U had not sent. They subsided so I took no further action. Now I have received some again along with my account being temporarily suspended. My question is this -  has bigpond been hacked as I see I am not the only one with these issues, I have read the posts saying to scan your machines for malware / spyware that a key logger may have been used to capture my password, well this has been done with no issues found, I have just changed my password so will see how this goes when  can finally get my account re-activated.

I am a small business owner so having email down is a big problem.

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
27 REPLIES 27
Telstra (Retired)
Telstra (Retired)

Re: Account Temporarily Suspended - suspicious emails

Hi scotty_308,

What you describe can indicate that your mailbox has been compromised and that you may have virus activity on one or more of your devices. 

We ask customers to update their security software and run a scan on each device that has access to your mailbox. From there you will need to contact BigPond Tech Support for a password reset.

Make sure that when you personalise the password, that it is unlike any password previously used. I would also suggest logging into webmail to make sure that there are no unexpected 'reply to' or email forwarding rules set.

You can find more information about suspended accounts here: https://www.telstra.com.au/support/category/email/manage/restore-a-suspended-mailbox

- Shelly

Need help? Check out our Community Wiki or Support Portal || Looking for a new mobile? Order online today || Get help with any Tech at Home with Telstra Platinum || Don't forget to tag answers as Accepted Solutions and give a Like to the member(s) who helped you out.