CrowdSupport®
Highlighted
MikeF48
Level 2: Rookie

I cannot send emails from Outlook 2016

Answered

I have been using Outlook 2016 for almost 12 months without any dramas. However, last week I received a text from Telstra stating that my account had been compromised and as a result my account had been suspended. I rang Telstra and my password was reset and everything seemed to get back to normal. However, today my account was again suspended and, upon calling Telstra, my password was once again reset. On both occasions, I have logged into My account and changed the password provided by Telstra staff. Now I find that, after changing the password in the Outlook settings, I can receive emails but they will not send. It appears from the error messages I am getting that the outgoing email server will not accept the new password. However, the same password seems to be accepted by the incoming email server. The password is only entered once in the Outlook settings.

Can anyone help with this problem. I forgot to mention that this is all happening on my desktop PC running Windows 10 Profseesional.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
MikeF48
Accepted Solution

Re: I cannot send emails from Outlook 2016

I seemed to have fixed my problem. I deleted all my email accounts from Outlook 2016 and re-created them from new. This seems to have done the trick. Got my fingers crossed that this issue does not rear its head again.

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
13 REPLIES 13
Steven61
Level 1: Cadet

For God's sake, I have been on Telstra support for over 2 hours now with EXACTLY the same problem and they just don't get it. Has anyone solved the problem??

Steven61

And now I am completely OVER Telstra. The person I was LiveChatting to gave up trying to communicate via LIveChat and said she was going to ring me. Well 20 minutes later ... NO CALL. This is not service, this is a disgrace.

Telstra (Retired)
Telstra (Retired)

Hi steven61,