CrowdSupport®
Highlighted
dove1jus
Level 2: Rookie

Telstra TV - Roku Media Player - Unable to 'forget' previous DLNA server

Answered

Hi all,

I have been using Telstra TV for over a year now and although I have had some patchy experiences as a whole I have enjoyed using it. I use it mainly for Netflix and connecting to my DLNA Server (Plex).

Earlier this week my PC crashed and to fix it I had to reinstall the OS. In doing so it rendered my original server inoperable (PITA but whatever right). I created a new Plex server on my PC and and tried to connect to it via the Roku Media Player as I had done before. But the Roku Media Player still shows the old server and the new server hasn't appeared... weird but nothing a factory reset wouldn't fix right?

Wrong! It still remembers my old server! As far as I can tell there is no way for me to 'forget' the old server. Needless to say at this point I am perplexed! (See what I did thereSmiley Very Happy)

I know that this is isolated to the Telstra TV/Roku Media Player because I also have a separate smart tv which I can connect to the new Plex server via the Plex app on there.

I am running the latest versions of both applications as well as the latest version of the Telstra TV software.

I searched through forums including crowdsupport and as usual, I am apparently the first person to come across this issue.

So with reluctance I call Telstra  and get through to Tech Support. They are as perplexed (sorry couldn't help it, had to do it againSmiley Tongue) as I am. Their advice was to raise the issue here. I asked them about back channels of communication to Roku to get the Roku Media Player app updated to enable a 'forget' feature, but the guy said here was the best place to get that done.

Anyway enough rambling from the frustrated guy who has spent half a day trying to sort this out.

Thanks in advance, looking forward to a solution.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
dove1jus
Accepted Solution