20yrcustomer
Level 2: Rookie

Fair Market Value - iPhone XS Max

Answered

Does any know what the Fair Market Value calculation for an iPhone XS Max is?

It’s quite a strange situation. I’ve been forking our cash for mine for 2 years and could’ve bought it outright with the amount I have paid. I leased the phone in order to be able to swap it out but Telstra has apparently unilaterally cancelled that option so I’m basically left with a useless lease plan that I never would’ve entered into if I’d known the whole point of it would be undermined, and a phone I’ve effectively paid for. Now I’m being told I have to return it or pay the Fair Market Value. If the charge is anything other than but nominal I will be pretty disappointed. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
LukeV
Support Team
Support Team
Accepted Solution

Re: Fair Market Value - iPhone XS Max

Fair market value of a lease phone is calculated at 3% per month of the lease ie 24 x 3% = 72%, so FMV is 100-72%=28%. This doesn't take into account physical condition, I'd recommend visiting your local Telstra Store  https://tel.st/n7f9k for an accurate valuation.

Need help? Check out our Community Wiki or Support Portal || Looking for a new mobile? Order online today || Get help with any Tech at Home with Telstra Platinum || Don't forget to tag answers as Accepted Solutions and give a Like to the member(s) who helped you out.

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines

View solution in original post

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
8 REPLIES 8
bs_
Level 1: Cadet