Level 1: Cadet

Iphone 5 $60 plan more like a $200 plan

I have the Iphone 5 on the $60 per month plan and am ready to call it quits with telstra.

Every month since i have had the phone my bill is well and truly over its data limit, i could understand this if i was one to use my phone a lot but i only use the internet via wifi unless its completely essential i use mobile data otherwise it is switched off. Last month my Bill was $470 and they accused me of using 4 times my data allowance which is frankly impossible for me.

I am a uni student and can't afford bills like these ... they did reduce the bill down however, not as much as they promised over the phone and no matter how many calls i make it goes nowhere!

The conclusion i have drawn is that telstra are going to use the excuse that this is all the result of the ipohne 5 using data to download top quality pictures and videos but i actually have challenged this by not using cellular data at all this month and still have a large bill..

how can i opt out please? im not happy

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
5 REPLIES 5
Level 11: Detective

Re: Iphone 5 $60 plan more like a $200 plan

It's technically impossible to still be charged data with off mobile data.

Could it be your Apps?

I eat cookies and kudos! Happy thoughts!

Cheers!
Clyne
Telstra (Retired)
Telstra (Retired)

hi Samantha 

As Clyne has mentioned, this could be to do with your apps, or automatic software updates.

The best way to have this investigated to determine what is  happening is to chat with us here so we can view your account and find out what is going on.

-     Lindy 

Need help? Check out our Community Wiki or Support Portal || Looking for a new mobile? Order online today || Get help with any Tech at Home with Telstra Platinum || Don't forget to tag answers as Accepted Solutions and give a Like to the member(s) who helped you out.