mac_bridie
Level 2: Rookie

Google Pixel 2 XL battery draining

Answered
Is anyone else having a their battery drain really quickly after doing the Android 9 update ? I don't have any new apps or anything new about my phone but the battery is only lasting 3/4 of the day since the update. Any ideas ?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Big_Dan
Telstra (Retired)
Telstra (Retired)
Accepted Solution

Re: Google Pixel 2 XL battery draining

Hey mac_bridie, welcome to CrowdSupport.

I have the same phone, and it hasn't missed a beat. If anything I think the battery life has been better since the update. If you got Settings -> Battery -> Three Dots (top right) -> Battery Usage you'll see a breakdown of what apps etc. have been consuming power. Take a look and see if anything unusual appears there.

I saw this kind of thing very occasionally when I worked as a Tech Bar consultant in a Telstra Store, and the only fix I found that was more than a band aid was a factory reset but perform the above check first to see if that can be avoided.

Need help? Check out our Community Wiki or Support Portal || Looking for a new mobile? Order online today || Get help with any Tech at Home with Telstra Platinum || Don't forget to tag answers as Accepted Solutions and give a Like to the member(s) who helped you out.

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines

View solution in original post

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
5 REPLIES 5
Big_Dan
Telstra (Retired)
Telstra (Retired)
Accepted Solution

Hey mac_bridie, welcome to CrowdSupport.

I have the same phone, and it hasn't missed a beat. If anything I think the battery life has been better since the update. If you got Settings -> Battery -> Three Dots (top right) -> Battery Usage you'll see a breakdown of what apps etc. have been consuming power. Take a look and see if anything unusual appears there.