meerkat2u
Level 2: Rookie

Below the minimum speed Telstra guarantees ADSL 2+ to connect at?

After a consistent couple of years of download speeds between 8-9 Mbps my download speed started to become erratic earlier this year, dropping down to below 1 Mbps for hours at a time.  It fits the pattern of congestion, evenings and weekends the worst.  I used Bigpond Support a couple of months ago to get a case assigned to me, a slow, painful process to move past the Level 1 support, when as an IT sysadmin I had gone through all the basis fault finding before calling. There was some action and I believe a software upgrade was performed at the Exchange.

I saw some download consistency for a month after the date I was advised the fix occured but I now see the same problem again perhaps worse, with speeds hovering between 0.8 and 1 Mbps every night.  I've got another case number assigned a few days ago but no callback yet...  I will add I get good speeds in the morning, back up to 8 Mbps but that's not where I need it. 

It's literally hell in my house, 2 adults, 2 teenagers, lots of devices, all requiring the Internet in the evening for work, study or entertainment, great Telstra Plan but I can't even get the Telstra home page to render on a Wednesday night...

Look for all sorts of ideas guys?

I'm near the boundary of the Mordialloc Exchange, ADSL2+ connection, new filters, router and modem (crowd favourite brands). Bigpond Elite 200Gb as part of a 24 month bundled contract (renewed when the going was good of course).

I took my number from another suburb when I originally moved in, someone has suggested getting a new line could help?  Something about running additional cabling at the Exchange? I have no ties to my current number, it's only for marketers anyway these days.