Highlighted
Level 2: Rookie

Bridge Telstra Gateway F@st 5355 to NetGear Nighthawk X8 AC5300

Answered

I'm new to NBN (today) and currently have my home WiFi via a modem and a NetGear NightHawk X8 (AC5300) that I'm very happy with (range and connectivity). I don't want to have to connect all my devices to a new network (as proposed with installation of the new Telstra Gateway (F@st 5355).

I understand it is possible to use the gateway in bridge mode (effectively replacing the existing modem with the gateway.

I wonder if somone can provide step by step instruction on how to set it up (the gateway is not yet out of the box)

Thanks,

Geo

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Accepted Solution

Re: Bridge Telstra Gateway F@st 5355 to NetGear Nighthawk X8 AC5300

OK...I've cracked it!

The Nighthawk advanced settings has an option to set the router as a wireless Access point.

So simply have to connect the ethrenet cable from the LAN Port on the Telstra Gateway to the Internett port on the router, set the router as a Wireless Access Point and it all works.

Now can choose to use either the Gateway Wifi or the Router wifi and don't have to move/reconfigure any of the devices previously working of the router.

Yay!!!

View solution in original post

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
8 REPLIES 8
Highlighted
Level 14: Field Agent

You can easily set F@st 5335 into Bridged mode under Gateway Settings (as per screen shot below), but please be aware that you will have no accesss to telephone/landline in bridged mode.

If you require access to landline it is a much more complicated setup. I have successfully done it with non-Netgear router and it is not something that can be  explained in a few sentences for step by step instructions.

Sagem bridge mode1.jpg

Highlighted

Thanks for that, W201.

I will need to retain use of the landline, though. Any clues on what I'd need to do to achieve it?

Highlighted
Accepted Solution