Highlighted
Level 2: Rookie

Cable Activation delay

Hi there everyone,

I moved into my new house with my Fiance on Saturday 23rd March and decided to get the ball rolling on our home bundle on Wednesday 20th March to place our order through bigpond/telstra (200Gb Cable/Foxtel/home phone). Asked on the phone when ordering how long until we are online as I work in IT and need to have internet to be able to log in to the site to work from home. I was told 3-5 business days and all would be working.

So order was placed on the 20th, received our Modem on Friday 22nd (for self install, all cabling to the house is there), all looking good. Installed our modem and went to activate it at the end of the install, and i get an error message saying that our order is still being processed.

Ok, try again over the weekend and still same thing, rang customer and tech support a few times to get an answer or explanation and the first few times got me no-where, but then eventually was told that our order is still being provisioned and is waiting to be completed (why?). Was told someone from the activations or relevant team would contact me within 48 hours to let me know what is happening and when to expect it to be connected.

That is now at 6 business days since that call and still havent been contacted by anyone. I had to go and buy a flaky mobile 3G connection (not in a 4G area) from another provider for fear of the same thing happening so that I could connect to work (which is painful at best and taking me 3 times as long to work), so i am now more out of pocket than necessary.

This is getting beyond a joke and i still don't have a date/time when i can expect my account to be activated.

Meanwhile through all of this, Foxtel technician came out to the house on a public holiday to install our IQ and it is working fine.

Anyone else experiencing this same thing? I'm not happy to say the least and want this resolved and activated.

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you