Unhappy_Telstra
Level 1: Cadet

Can't believe this has happened again worst experience ever, Telstra offers no help!

2 years ago Telstra came to Breakfast Point and installed cable to the whole estate, I was one of the first to sign up.

They set up a pop up shop at Breakfast Point the media even published an article to say how nice it was for the community and Telstra to team up and do something about it before the NBN was to be installed. I was assured my house was ready to go and on the day the technician came to install my cable connection I was told there was no cable from the pit to my house. In the mean time Telstra had cancelled my phone and internet with iinet. Telstra couldn't say when and how long before they can do this so I had to cancel so I can get my internet and phone back with iinet. Mind you in the mean time Telstra kept sending me bills for this service they couldn't provide, it took 2 months before they finally stop sending me bills.

 

After 2 years I finally got over what had happened so I decided to give Telstra another go, I looked up the website it shows "Great news, you can get Telstra Bundles via Cable" so I called to explain the problem I had before.

 

I was told to make a compliant and see what response I get, I told Telstra that there was no cable from the Pit to my house and the situation I had before. This is the first response from my compliant.

 

 

 

Dear Name Deleted,

Thank you for getting in touch with us on 20 September 2017 about a complaint relating to your Telstra account number 2000514442290.

I'm sorry that you've experienced an issue with signing up on our Telstra services.

You were concerned that:

 You have confirmed that a cable connection is available on your premise however Telstra was not able to provide you with the service.

I've confirmed that:

Address deleted, BREAKFAST POINT NSW 2137 is serviceable by Cable type of internet as indicated on our website and at the same on our serviceability tool.

We know you've been put out by this matter so we'd like to fix things by:

I have just noticed that you have already decided to cancel the request for the cable bundle here in Telstra. I understand if you ended up with this decision as I have reviewed what happened with the account.

Telstra was not able to connect the service due to issue with the lead-in and cablings and I was able to distinguish the lengthy time that took place.

What I can assure you now is that there will be no charges for this account. Again, I apologize for the experience that you had, we would love to have you as a customer but of course, you are free to choose your preferred network provider.

Please let me know it this requires further action otherwise we will be closing this complaint as dissatisfied as we are not able to give you a satisfactorily outcome.

 

If you like to talk more about this, please contact me on 1800 241 787 my PIN is 5152 or email ComplaintsResolutionCentre@team.telstra.com quoting your Telstra reference number. I'm available Monday-Friday, 10am-5pm (AEST/AEDST).

If we haven't heard from you by 05 October 2017 I consider this matter to be closed without any acceptance or action taken related to the proposed resolution.

I hope to hear from you soon so we can quickly resolve this matter for you.

 

Best regards,

Bel
D654877
Complex Complaint Resolution Coordinator
XCo Escalation Complaints & Resolution
Telstra Corporation Limited

 

 
So here I am really happy thinking finally Telstra got their act together so I decided to go ahead with the installation. I got a call to say the technician will be at my place on the 26th September 2017, but on that morning Telstra called to tell me there was a small problem so they had to cancel. My wife took the day off a complete waste of time, anyway so I called Bel to find out what is going go she explained and rearranged for someone to come out again this time on the 3rd November 2017. The technician came out which was great but told me the same thing I was told 2 years ago.
 
I called Bel frustrated that this was happening  to me and she told me she will get to the bottom of this and here is the response.
 

Dear Name deleted,

Thank you for getting in touch with us on 20 September 2017 about a complaint relating to your Telstra account number 2000514442290.

Im sorry we haven't been able to reach an agreement regarding your complaint about getting a new cable internet from Telstra.

You were concerned that:

You wanted to sign up to a new plan with Telstra for a Cable internet.

I've confirmed that:

Your address Address deleted, BREAKFAST POINT NSW 2137is serviceable by cable type of internet.

We have initiated an order for the internet cable to be connected at your premise and found out that civil works are required for us to go proceed with your requests.

Our Commercial Quote team contacted you and given you a quotation for the lead-in work for almost $1000.00 but you have declined the job.

I have explained to you that it is Telstra's responsibility to install cable lines from the exchange to the pit however the connection from the pit to your household, it has to be at your own cost.

Unfortunately, you've told me that this proposed resolution doesn't meet with your expectations because you believe that Telstra has installed cable lines on your entire neighbourhood for free but Telstra skipped your house.

While it's disappointing that we're unable to reach a mutually agreeable solution, we are confident that our investigation and proposed resolution are appropriate and therefore, Im not able to do anything further to resolve this matter for you. For your reference, I've recorded details of your enquiry under the complaint reference number SR 1-1274699082823.

As you're not satisfied with the outcome, you may wish to discuss our proposed resolution with the Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman (TIO).

If you wish to accept the resolution I've offered you, please call me on 1800 241 787 PIN 5152 quoting your Telstra complaint reference number SR 1-1274699082823. I'm availableMonday-Friday, 10am-5pm (AEST/AEDST).

 

Best regards,

Bel
D654877
Complex Complaint Resolution Coordinator
XCo Escalation Complaints & Resolution
Telstra Corporation Limited

 

 

So in the end I am being told now that I must pay the full price, it didn't matter that my wife had to take serval days off work not to mention the inconvenience that it has caused us.  How can I not get upset from not paying to now having to paying $1,000 this offer sounds too good to be true. Bel's offer is just way too good I can not for the life of me work out what it is Telstra is offering me? Can you please enlighten me because going on the email Bel sent me above the offer is that I pay, not trying to be a smarty here but is that even a offer?

 

After 2 years I am back to square one still no cable, except this time you want to charge me for all your stuff ups, I am lost for words and can't believe this sort of thing can happen and this is how you deal with your customers.

Was this helpful?

  • Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
3 REPLIES 3
Yastiandrie
Level 24: Supreme Being
Level 24: Supreme Being

Re: Can't believe this has happened again worst experience ever, Telstra offers no help!

The way i understand the emails was that the professional installation fee was going to be waived ($240 for standard install). However when the Field Tech investigated there was civil works required to run the lead-in from the pit, which led to the commercial quote of the $1000

 

Civil works in not covered by a standard professional installation

I am a Complex Customer Service Specialist, nominally working with most assurance products. However, I am not an official representative on CrowdSupport.

IT Helpdesk and Technicial Support by Telstra Platinum
Helping Australians Find the Things that Matter Most with Telstra Locator
Unhappy_Telstra
Level 1: Cadet

Re: Can't believe this has happened again worst experience ever, Telstra offers no help!

Telstra was not able to connect the service due to issue with the lead-in and cablings and I was able to distinguish the lengthy time that took place.

What I can assure you now is that there will be no charges for this account


The above reply from Bel states cabling, plus no one in Breakfast Point was charge for this, when Telstra put cables in they did it for everyone that's why there was going to be no charge as they knew there was a cable at my house. Telstra missed it 2 years ago so why should I have to pay for something they should have gotten right at the start. 

 

Oh yes my time and my wife's time is nothing correct? The situation was explained to them right from the start but Telstra ignored what I told them and insisted there was cable to my house so none of these counts for anything at all yes because our time is worthless?

 

Telstra could at the very least make a serious offer if they were sincere but instead they asked me to pay for the full cost does this seem fair to you? The numerous phone calls and email so many days taken off work all for nothing, cancelling my phone and internet all this means nothing to Telstra at the very least they could have said sorry for all your inconvenience please accept our offer of half price maybe something along those lines?

 

Not once in my professional life have I dealt with such a ridiculous company who cares nothing for the customer at all.


@Yastiandrie wrote:

The way i understand the emails was that the professional installation fee was going to be waived ($240 for standard install). However when the Field Tech investigated there was civil works required to run the lead-in from the pit, which led to the commercial quote of the $1000

 

Civil works in not covered by a standard professional installation


 

Unhappy_Telstra
Level 1: Cadet

Re: Can't believe this has happened again worst experience ever, Telstra offers no help!

Telstra was not able to connect the service due to issue with the lead-in and cablings and I was able to distinguish the lengthy time that took place.
What I can assure you now is that there will be no charges for this account

Set it & forget it

With direct debit there’s no need to give paying your bill another thought.

Avoid queuing up and never worry about late fees again.

Setup direct debit