Highlighted
Level 2: Rookie

Lag/Congestion Issue

Well I had Telstra Adsl and it was perfectly fine for me on cod on the xbox but on the 7th of june 2011 it just started to lag at peak hours everyday (5pm-11pm). Now At this point of time I have been lagging for 5 months and I am absolutely sick of it. So 14 days ago rang up Telstra asked them to upgrade my internet as these speeds are just to slow. I asked if I would need a new modem because its now going to be Adsl2+ and so they sent me down a new modem. I'v now had Adsl2+ and the new modem/router they sent me and I am still lagging at peak hours. My xbox is connected to the net via Ethernet cable and like I said only lags during peak hours. I live in Taylors Lakes, Victoria and feel free to ask me any questions at all as I need all the help I can get. So please help me out! Thanks in advance.

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
14 REPLIES 14
Highlighted
Level 21: Augmented

Re: Lag/Congestion Issue

if your internet is fine all day and only lags at peak time it is more likely you have a congestion issue at your exchange, a faster connection won't help in this case as it's the internet backhaul that is the problem, you could find out if there is any capacity upgrade scheduled but not a lot else you could do really, ADSL2 generally offers higher pings than ADSL1, to a gamer the ping is generally more important than the download speed
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Statistically, three out of five people are not the other two
Highlighted

How can I find out if there is a upgrade scheduled? and when? 

Highlighted

In my experience .. There is probably no schedual to upgrade any ADSL exchange, your best bet

- http://www.nbnco.com.au/our-network/index.html  

Highlighted

@joelcassr wrote: