JIMMOYZ
Level 1: Cadet

Replacing T gateway router on the NBN (my internet is horrible, help!)

Answered

Hi,

After getting the NBN with telstra, I have been getting lousy internet that is worse than before "upgrading". On my wireless laptop I constantly drop out with various errors such as "no data recieved" with this worsening at prime time hours (like 7pm). So I decided to get a new router; Netgear's WNDR4500. I have not yet installed because I rand telstra for some advice on installing and the dude just shut me down with "you cant replace the T gateway". 

However on forums I am hearing otherwise, so in simple terms (im new to this kind of thing) how can I use my new router/ fix my **bleep**ty internet?

on a side note with a computer wired directly to the t gateway there is a constant 8 mbps with not quite 1 in upload

on my laptop I am recieving...2 Mbps download and 0.2 upload, what is wrong????

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Lathania
Level 21: Augmented
Accepted Solution

Re: Replacing T gateway router on the NBN (my internet is horrible, help!)

In regards to installing your Netgear modem, just plug it in directly to whichever UNI-D port you currently have an ethernet cable in and it will work.

If you have an IP Voice service however, this will no longer work without the T-Gateway.
Lathania

View solution in original post

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
19 REPLIES 19
Lathania
Accepted Solution

In regards to installing your Netgear modem, just plug it in directly to whichever UNI-D port you currently have an ethernet cable in and it will work.

If you have an IP Voice service however, this will no longer work without the T-Gateway.
Lathania

View solution in original post

JIMMOYZ

Hey Lathania,