Chris_2
Level 1: Cadet

Router blocking Zoom Phone

Hi There,

I am currently working from home and my company is about to switch to Zoom Phone.

Doing some tests we discovered that my Netgear Telstra Gateway Max C6300bd-1tlaus router is blocking zoom phone somehow.

Tech support at zoom pointed me to this page but unfortunately they are not authorized to make any changes to my device.

https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articles/201362683-Network-firewall-or-proxy-server-settings-for-Zo...

Could you please send me instructions on how to update my router setting to allow traffic from Zoom Phone?

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
3 REPLIES 3
Mkrtich
Level 21: Augmented

Re: Router blocking Zoom Phone

Hi - I have no experience with Zoom Phone but from watching YouTube clips, it looks impressive.

When you say that you are pre-testing Zoom Phone as part of your company switching to using the application for their company wide Unified Communications platform for Voice, Video and Mobile communications, are you actually using the Zoom Phone App that has been pre-activated for you by your Systems Admin staff. They would have assigned you an allocated extension number or are you attempting to test it through just a web page? 

A few questions

1. Is the Zoom Phone App loaded on your mobile phone, laptop or desktop PC and registered on line to your company's account and it shows you your extension number - does it work on the mobile phone's 4G LTE which would bypass the modem ? 

2. If you only have the Zoom App downloaded - does it work for video conferencing only?

3. Are you attempting to connect Poly or Yealink  VoIP SIP phone to the modem so that you can use it for traditionally desktop telephony? That would require a hosted VoIP subscription with Zoom.