Fieryservant
Level 1: Cadet

Will upload speeds ever be increased?

I'm a photographer and filmmaker and for me upload speeds are super important. To send clients work, and especially I would like to archive work to the cloud. At current speeds that isn't possible.

I have the fastest plan I can buy at the moment which is 250/25. So the download speeds are great but uploads recently got reduced from 40 to 25 with no reason, just got a Telstra notice.

Surely we're at a place now where we can at least have the option of purchasing faster upload speeds. Currently I'm maxxed out at 25 and it feels like 2015.

Telstra - do you have any plans in place to increase upload speeds for those of us that really need it?

Thanks

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
5 REPLIES 5
SteveW_52
Level 22: Superhuman
Level 22: Superhuman

Re: Will upload speeds ever be increased?

As soon as you opt for Superfast or above, your service gets reshaped to NBN Premium, which allows a more assymetric download/upload ratio (the general feeling is apparently that more peole want to download (streaming services) than upload. There are some RSP's out there that do provide symettrical services, but whether thet can provide such a service in your area requires some research..

I use a mobile 4G broadband service which most of the time provides double my Superfast HFC broadband upload speed...

Stevo 52
Too many devices, probably an addict 🙂 also a tinkerer and developer of stuff..
Not with Telstra, just another customer like you!
Fieryservant

I just checked my mobile speed and it's around 120/18, so that's slower than I'm getting via NBN .

I wish I could allocate my speed however I wished. i.e. if I had 300 in total, I could split it however I wanted between upload/download.  50/50, 60/40 etc.

That would be awesome - Telstra can I please request this?

Jupiter
Level 25: The Singularity