Level 1: Cadet

Notification of no service on home phone

Answered

Telstra,

My 91 year old mother, who is living alone independently, has no internet and only uses a mobile when travelling, relies on her home phone for family and friends to call and check on her / provide company.

Telstra cut off her service and to many others in the suburb, on the weekend ... NO NOTIFICATION, No offer to ensure that she had alternate communication to call emergency services, and NO "Out-of-order" tone for those calling her.  It will not now be fixed until 5 Oct 2020.  She had no idea that those trying to call were very worried that she could not get to the phone and answer calls.

It is only because I work in the industry does she now carry her mobile (fully charged and pre-paid) and arranged for calls to be diverted to it.  How many old people, or people living on the own, in her suburb alone (postcode 2011) do not know they don't have service or their loved ones totally unaware that it is the phone that is dead and not the person???

Really Telstra? - almost criminal neglect!!!  If one of those affected customers is lying by the phone waiting for a dial tone - I don't think they will survive a week!

One for the ombudsman? 

Peter

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Level 25: The Singularity
Accepted Solution

Re: Notification of no service on home phone

Nope. Not a Telstra employee.

The extent of the obligation of Telstra is to ensure that the notification to the customer is made (NBN Co does the same thing). They cannot forcibly migrate somebody to the NBN due to the way the regulations were drawn up by the Government. It would have been better as an opt-out system (ie. you actually have to say that you want your services cancelled otherwise you were migrated).

Never be afraid to back yourself when trying new things, just always make sure you have 3 escape routes if things go wrong.

View solution in original post

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you