Where customers answer questions and share ideas about our products and services

Reply
Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-01-2012
Accepted Solution

My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Hi,

 

I have no service and it is showing SOS only. How do i fix this?

 

Thanks

 

Norma

Level 21: Augmented
Posts: 2,253
Registered: ‎30-06-2011

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

[ Edited ]

The SOS network status indicator means that only emergency calls can be made. Messages cannot be sent or received, and phone calls cannot be made or received.

That generally means either your phone can see a network but not your own carriers network or you have an inactive SIM (disconnected, out of credit etc)

Could also happen if you had played around with settings on the phone and didn't have network selection set to automatic and had the incorrect network selected.

Try turning off your phone, removing the SIM (and battery if applicable) for 5 minutes, then re-install the SIM (and battery) and restart your device. 

If you are still get the SOS message, check for mobile outages here http://tel.st/6x6a

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Statistically, three out of five people are not the other two
Level 22: Superhuman
Posts: 2,660
Registered: ‎05-07-2011

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Also, please confirm that you actually have a SIM card properly inserted in the handset, and that you have entered the correct PIN if it was requested upon the handset being switched on.

——
Departed from CrowdSupport as of 12 June 2013, when the fun factor for me had finally completely evaporated with all the recent site layout and functionality changes, and the apparent efforts to turn a community goodwill-powered vehicle into something closer to a customer service channel.

The opinions and sentiments expressed above are mine only, and do not necessarily reflect Telstra's views or position. I work at Telstra, but my participation here is strictly in a personal capacity as a fellow Australian telecommunications services consumer, and you can safely assume you are not my customer, client, patron, benefactor or friend when I post in this forum.
Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-09-2012
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Hi,

 

My mum and I are overseas and are having the same problem - they both say 'sos only'and are pretty much useless.

 

Would you be able to explain your answer further - like what settins they should be on; what to do if the phone can see a network but not your carriers; etc.

 

Thank you!

 

Britt

Level 4: Private Eye
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎12-03-2012
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Just noticed this thread.  I had this problem in the last week too.  Just picked up the phone and noticed it was SOS only.  It must have been like it for a while as it sucked a bit of life out of the battery.  I put the phone into and out of airplane mode, and moved it a short distance from its location.  I don’t what fixed it but something did.  It’ didn’t immediately jump back on the network after playing around with airplane mode so I don’t think that was it.

 

It had me a bit worried as it took its sweet time getting back on the network.

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎28-04-2013
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

hi,

 

how can i take the SOS only showing off

KaH
Level 7: Deputy Inspector
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎24-02-2013
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

My wife's work phone just did the same - pity there is no answer here.

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-07-2013
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Hi, I have just fixed this on my iphone 5 by powering it off and on by holding both the centre button down with the top right power button at the same time..  I went in first and checked the setting to ensure that the "Network Selection" was on automatic - I read this in another feed.  This didn't do anything so I thought I'd try the complete power down.  It worked.

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎16-04-2014
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

You can get the phone out of SOS only by activating & deactivating flight mode - rather than full power cycle of the phone. As to why it's happening, I don't know but it's very annoying.

Level 2: Rookie
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎18-06-2014
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?


woogz23 wrote:

Hi,

 

I have no service and it is showing SOS only. How do i fix this?

 

Thanks

 

Norma


SOS calls only is nothing but Emergency calls only.

There are two possibilities to get this type of issue.
1.You mobile phone receives weak signal from near tower so try to Swich off your mobile,wait few seconds and switch on.
2.Your mobile is locked to particular network provider.
If your problem persists after switch on your mobile phone,definitely your mobile phone restricted by some network so try to unlock your mobile phone.You can unlock your mobile phone using network unlock code.It's the best way to unlock your phone.If you need an unlock code for your visit Unlock-Zone.com    I hope it will be very useful to you.

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎20-09-2014
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

My phone has been stuck on SOS all day! 
The sim should not be inactive and everything else should be fine. 
So frustrating!!! 

 

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎25-09-2014
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Now I am back in Oz which settings are the safest and won't cost me too much?

Which are best while OS?

My phone was showing as SOS only. After I turned it off then on it seems OK

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎30-09-2014
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

I held the lock and home buttons on at the same time, and when I turned the phone back on , (SOS) was gone, thanks!

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-10-2014
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Thanks a million. Just tried the "airplane on off" trick and it fixed the problem.
Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-04-2015
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Thanks folks.  I tried a TravelSIM yesterday and it worked, and when I went back to the Telstra SIM it didn't find the network.  Only I didn't notice till today.   Switching in and out of Airplane mode didn't work for me, so I powered off and on again.  That worked.

 

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎21-12-2015
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

I did the holding downboth the centre button and power button at the same time on my iphone 4 and it worked

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-02-2016
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

My phone is doing this too iphone 5C - I have tried a lot of suggestions below but not doing anything? Any other ideas? Thanks

Support Team
Posts: 3,250
Registered: ‎24-08-2011
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Hi Woogz23

 

Sorry for the delay in responding to your post. Please speak with our Mobile Support team by calling 132200 (available 24x7). 

 

-    Lindy 

____________________

Need help? Check out our Community Wiki or Support Portal || Looking for a new mobile? Order online today
Don't forget to tag answers as Accepted Solutions and give a Kudo to the member(s) who helped you out

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎17-11-2013
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

This happened to me so  put it into and out of airplane mode, as recommended, and it fixed it immediately. Thanks!


remark wrote:

Just noticed this thread.  I had this problem in the last week too.  Just picked up the phone and noticed it was SOS only.  It must have been like it for a while as it sucked a bit of life out of the battery.  I put the phone into and out of airplane mode, and moved it a short distance from its location.  I don’t what fixed it but something did.  It’ didn’t immediately jump back on the network after playing around with airplane mode so I don’t think that was it.

 

It had me a bit worried as it took its sweet time getting back on the network.


 

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-06-2015
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Another issue to consider is when uprading phones. I have just upgraded from an iphone 4S to a 5S. Same problem - 5S was showing 'SOS' only. I fixed the issue by switching off the 4S which was still logged onto the network. The phones take different sized sim cards and I had orderd and fitted the new nano-sin to the 5S. So now I had two card with the same number trying to occupy the same space. Once I switched off the old 4S the 5S could log onto the network - problem solved!

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-12-2016
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Yeh, I got "SOS only" on a 5s the other day when Telstra turned off the 2G.

changing the setting for voice calls to 3G fixed it instantly....after a visit to the Telstra shop to check the SIM [they didn't mention anything about it may be because the 2G had just been turned off]...various turn off-turn on cycles...calling others [who suggested doing just that]...full resets...airplane on airplane off cycles....none of which worked.

Being reminded that 2g was just been turned off and that this could be checked somewhere in settings.

this worked. No need to visit the Genius Bar, yet.

The newer 3G and 4G may be faster but apparently use the battery up faster.

Level 2: Rookie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-08-2015

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

I have an aldi mobile sim in my iphone 4s backup phone and it also showed SOS Only.  Aldi uses the telstra network.  

 

Tried turning airplane mode on and off - no fix.  

Tried resetting with both buttons - no fix.  

Tried to seach for the telstra network by switching carrier settings from automatic to manual - failed (only optus and vodafone found)

 

What worked for me was:

-made sure I was connected to my home wifi so I wouldn't incur data charges (this is my backup phone with no data allowance)

-in settings turned on mobile data and enabled 3g

-phone immediately found telstra 

-turned off mobile data (but left enable 3g on)

 

Hope this helps someone

Support Team
Posts: 1,362
Registered: ‎27-07-2015
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Thanks for sharing jenib, Welcome to CrowdSupport.

 

It is possible that with the shutdown of the 2G network, your phone was ignoring the 3G broadcast as 3G was turned off.

____________________

Need help? Check out our Community Wiki or Support Portal || Looking for a new mobile? Order online today
Don't forget to tag answers as Accepted Solutions and give a Kudo to the member(s) who helped you out

All moderation actions are supported by the CrowdSupport Community Guidelines

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎29-05-2014

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

I followed all suggestions but none of them worked on my iPhone4S. Ended up going to a Telstra Shop and the girl there said we will see if this works before I get a tech guy to look at it.  She went to Settings/General/Reset/Reset Network settings.  Bingo it worked!!!!  By pressing this, it returns to factory defaults but doesn't remove any other information on your phone.  Guess I was lucky that the factory default was Telstra otherwise they would have had to try some other method.

 

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-12-2016
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

On my iphone 4, i enabled 3G and that did the trick. Thanks for the tip.

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎18-12-2016
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Thanks! It helped me figure out the problem with my son's phone.

Level 2: Rookie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-10-2014

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Thank You... The Reset Network Settings worked for me !!!

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎18-01-2017
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Same as you I tried everything above over the last week with no avail - Thankyou this was the only thing that worked for me (though I did have to turn it off & on again afterwards, but I knew it did something as it changed from stating "SOS only" to "No Service" immediately after enabling 3G)

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎14-03-2017
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

Awesome instructions. And it worked ! 

Level 1: Cadet
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎14-05-2014
0 Kudos

Re: My phone is showing SOS only. why is this?

yah! Thank you. Only suggestion that worked!