coolhand
Level 2: Rookie

Voicemail get reset whenever I change mobile plans or ownership

Answered

Does anyone know why voicemail gets reset whenever I change mobile plans or ownership?

 

I've had to change mobile phone ownership a few times (me to company, company to me, wife's phone to my account for data sharing), and I've changed plans/re-contracted a few times, and every time I do it it seems that my voicemail is reset completely.  I need to record my greeting message again.  Visual voicemail is not longer active on my iPhone (back to calling '101'), and I need to call/chat Telstra to get it re-enabled.

 

Is there any way to avoid this?  Or worst case, to have my outgoing message recovered (I'm so sick of re-recording it)?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kalak
Level 23: Superhero
Accepted Solution

Re: Voicemail get reset whenever I change mobile plans or ownership

A change of ownership is actually a disconnection and a new connection. As you can imagine, disconnecting a service cancels the messagebank. So it would need to be setup again on the new account.

With regards to re-contracting, I believe because of the way their system works when you re-contract all the parts of the old service are cancelled and then re-activated. Sometimes the rep may not add visual voicemail to the order, but even if they did it would still cancel the box and activate it again on the new contract.

Annoying for sure, but part of the way their system operates from my understanding.
If you've found a solution then don't forget to mark that post accordingly.
If you think I've been of assistance to you please remember to let me know by clicking on the LIKE button.

Please note: I am not a Telstra employee and any posts or opinions are entirely my own and don't reflect any official company position.

View solution in original post

Was this helpful?

  • Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
1 REPLY 1
Kalak
Level 23: Superhero
Accepted Solution

Re: Voicemail get reset whenever I change mobile plans or ownership

A change of ownership is actually a disconnection and a new connection. As you can imagine, disconnecting a service cancels the messagebank. So it would need to be setup again on the new account.

With regards to re-contracting, I believe because of the way their system works when you re-contract all the parts of the old service are cancelled and then re-activated. Sometimes the rep may not add visual voicemail to the order, but even if they did it would still cancel the box and activate it again on the new contract.

Annoying for sure, but part of the way their system operates from my understanding.
If you've found a solution then don't forget to mark that post accordingly.
If you think I've been of assistance to you please remember to let me know by clicking on the LIKE button.

Please note: I am not a Telstra employee and any posts or opinions are entirely my own and don't reflect any official company position.

View solution in original post

Set it & forget it

With direct debit there’s no need to give paying your bill another thought.

Avoid queuing up and never worry about late fees again.

Setup direct debit