Highlighted
Level 2: Rookie

Can't connect Laptop to Cable Modem via ethernet port ; WiFi ok

Hi,

I'm trying to connect a Samsung laptop to my Netgear GC3100 cable modem via the ethernet port on the laptop.

I haven't connected the laptop via the ethertnet port before.

However, I have set up the wifi connection to the cable modem and its working satisfactorily.

The ethernet port itself seems to be ok based on the Control panel  port diagnostics. This is showing the port as 'media enabled'.

The cable is known to be working.

I've set up a cable network connection and using this I then get a 651 error "Sorry the modem has reported an error".

I've tried to log into the modem directly but this also isn't working. (using ip address  192.168.0.1 )

I'm not an expert user, any help / guidance would be appreciated.    

regards,

John

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted

Re: Can't connect Laptop to Cable Modem via ethernet port ; WiFi ok

Also, when I've run the Windoews Network Diagnostics, I'm getting rhe error message "Ethernet port doesn't have a valid IP Configuration ".

regards,.

John

Highlighted
Level 23: Superhero

Hello,

Please.... if you are able to ......Can you go to a neighbours to check the laptop ethernet on another modem.

You will need to isolate if it's your port or the modem.

Once you have determined that, if it is your modem, you will need to ring Big Pond technical support on 133 933,

Thank you

If I have helped you, a "Like" would be appreciated.

If my advice is a solution, please acknowledge it.

I'm not a Telstra employee.
50 + years exp. in radio comms., eg mobile phones since 1963, two-way radios, base stations, antennas & pagers. Expert in current Telstra Go repeaters & smart antennas.
"Being 75 years of age, entitles one to be an expert at everything!!"
Highlighted

Hi Prof,

thanks for your good suggestion.  Where I live that isn't easy to do but worth a try.