chezie
Level 2: Rookie

D-Link DWM-222 No service

Hi,

Currently my main internet service is down so I got a D-Link DWM-222 as well as a Telstra SIM. I have updated the firmware on the device as well as sign up for a data plan over 48 hours ago but the device is still getting 'No service' according to the D-Link software.

I've never used a setup like this before, any help would be appreciated.

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
12 REPLIES 12
SteveW_52
Level 22: Superhuman

Re: D-Link DWM-222 No service

What was your original NBN service? Did it include a Telstra Smart Modem 2 (which has 4G backup built in)?

Does your mobile device run on the Telstra network and as the situation is now, does it do data directly (without wi-fi to the modem)?

It can take a while for Telstra to provision SIM's lately. Is the SIM prepaid (needs activating) or Post paid?

Stevo 52
Too many devices, probably an addict :-) also a tinkerer and developer of stuff..
Not with Telstra, just another customer like you!
chezie

Original service is a non-Telstra ISP, the device is to do data directly (wireless wan not wireless lan) and the SIM is prepaid.

SteveW_52

Does your mobile device (handset) work on the Telstra network? I am trying to establish if you have coverage where you are, and whether the 'bands' Telstra use there are compatible with the DLink device.

Also, unplug the DLink and remove the SIM..  leave it off for an hour or so, then plug it back in. The disconnection from the network might be needed to ensure the SIM is de-registered before trying to re-register... 

Stevo 52
Too many devices, probably an addict :-) also a tinkerer and developer of stuff..
chezie

oh, yes the mobile tether is with Telstra. I'll try removing the SIM and report back. Thanks!

chezie

ok having done that it is now stuck 'Network searching...'

SteveW_52

It might take a while to find the appropriate channel..