Temray
Level 2: Rookie

Smartmodem Technicolor DJA0231

Hi - I’ve just churned my ADSL connection from iiNet to Telstra, but have had lots of hardware problems. (The firmware for the modem is 18.1.c.0347-950-RC). When I first went on line, I changed the SSID to something more relevant, but then had all sorts of problems with connecting different Mac devices by wireless (IP conflicts, etc). I reset the modem, and only changes I made then were to put in my bigpond user ID and password. Devices now connect, but connection is very unstable - lots of dropouts, with the Smartmodem then rebooting itself, having to reconnect, etc. Is the Smartmodem likely to be faulty, or is there anything I can do to make it work better? - I’m not very tech savvy, but the iiNet connection never had any problems, using an old Netgear modem/router. Should I try using the old Netgear with the Telstra sign in details, or persevere with the Smartmodem. Is there anywhere to get help - the chat on the app takes forever & doesn’t get outcomes (It took from April until now to churn my service to Telstra!!!). Any thoughts from anyone?

Was this helpful?

• Yes it was, thank you
  • No, I still need help
7 REPLIES 7
cf4
Level 25: The Singularity

Re: Smartmodem Technicolor DJA0231

The modem's firmware is outdated. Current firmware is 18.1c.512-950-RB. The modem rebooting could be due to modem attemlting to update the firmware. 

The dropouts could be due to a line fault. The stats at Advanced > Diagnostics > xDSL will give an indication of faults with the ADSL link. You could also try using the netgear to see if the same drop outs occur. You just need to enter your big pond user name and password in the netgear.

Changing modem's WiFi password and SSID should not cause any problems. One thing I recommend is disabling band steering which enables you to name the two WiFi bands with separate SSIDs.

There is a link to an unofficial manual of the modem in this post.